Sei bella means you are beautiful in Italian. Fitting given my love affair with Italy and the Italians. Actually, I’m waiting on news as to whether a place in Christchurch will be holding Italian classes in early 2013 – SO hoping. Meanwhile, I’ve been enjoying some new eyeshadows from the Sei bella range of Melaleuca.

Melaleuca is a wellness company that offers nutritional supplements, cleaning and personal care products, as well as skincare and cosmetics. It was founded in 1985 in Idaho by Frank L. VanderSloot and most of its products are certified as organic. I use a lot of their products – dishwashing liquid, laundry detergent and the fabulous Renew Skin Therapy.

For the Christmas 2012 holiday season, Melaleuca had some special eyeshadow colours and a bronzing trio. Naturally, I was tempted! This is the first time I’ve used any Melaleuca makeup and I’m very pleasantly surprised. The eyeshadows are: #4562 Taupe di Milan (pink champagne); #4838 Roman Copper (warm gold); #4837 Cypress Green (gorgeous moss green); #4841 Carnival Gold (pale gold); and #4839 Cocoa Latte (a stand out rich chocolate shade with gold flecks). The bronzer is #4864 and is called Bronze Glo Bronzer Trio. I’m pretty sure this bronzing trio is limited edition – I can’t even find it on the Melaleuca site, so it must have sold out.

Okay so here’s what I used for the FOTD:

EYES

  • Taupe di Milan as base; Roman Copper in socket; Cocoa Latte on outer corners; Cypress Green to line the under eye; a touch of Carnival Gold on the inner corner of the eye.
  • Almay crayon contour eyeliner pencil in brown.
  • MAC Blanc Type eyeshadow for brow bone higlighter. Great little multi-tasker since you can use it as an eyeshadow, brow bone highlighter and cheek highlighter. As an eyeshadow, it looks great with MAC Mystery in the socket.
  • Mascara (not in photo below) Revlon Grow Luscious in Black.

FACE

  • To tone down my high colouring, I used (as always) Moisture Mist Green Veil. It neutralises the redness in my cheeks, nose and chin areas.
  • Bare Escentuals BareMinerals SPF15 Matte foundation in Fairly Light. The matte version is better than the original but I think Fairly Light is too dark for me. Should have chosen Light. It’s a reasonably good mineral foundation but not as good as my favourite – Innoxa Pure Mineral Loose Foundation in Fair. Being matte, the BareMinerals powder goes a long way towards preventing shine but it seems very flat on the skin to me. No glow. And I also think it looks a bit cakey. But I’ll finish up the pot and then try out The Body Shop Virgin Minerals, which I’ve heard a lot of good things about.
  • A light dusting on the T-zone of MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Light Plus.

CONCEALER

BRONZER & BLUSH

  • Melaleuca Bronze Glo Bronzer Trio. I swept my bronzing brush over the three colours.
  • Revlon Photoready Cream blush in #100 Pinched. I have no idea why but the cream blushes are only available in three colours – Flushed, Pinched and Coral Reef. Weird if you ask me because these babies are seriously good. Pinched is a pale peach with very slight shimmer. You can apply with fingers but I use the Sephora #43 blush/bronzer flat top brush. It dries to a matte looking finish and it’s silky soft in consistency. I’m tempted to try Flushed but admit it looks a little scary bright pink to me.

BROWS

  • I filled in the brows with the Make Up Store Microshadow in Smog. This is a multi-tasking eyeshadow. It’s great as a base colour, in the socket or for the brows. Love.

LIPS

  • Revlon Beyond Natural Protective Liptint with SPF15 in Pink Rose. The formulation makes it feel like you’re wearing a creamy lipbalm. Sadly, the Beyond Natural range is discontinued. I guess it’s been replaced by the Lip Butters but I actually think the liptints were better. They also discontinued the blush/bronzer duo in #400 Pink Rose. Thankfully, I have two of these as they were a gift with purchase a year or so ago.
IMG_5821

Sorry about the crappy T-shirt – I was about to go out and see the horses.

IMG_5765

Melaleuca eyeshadows and bronzer, plus Revlon cream blush in Pinched.

IMG_5762

