Awhile back I told you about the dangers of Sodium Lauryl Sulphate aka SLS. You might also have heard of Sodium Laureth Sulphate, which is a derivative. These nasties are used to lather up our shampoos, liquid soaps, detergents, face cleansers, body washes and…..our toothpaste. You might ask – so what?

Well, freak yourself out and read this. SLS can penetrate the tissue of your mouth, enter the blood stream and build up in the liver, kidneys, heart, lungs and tissues. It can also cause mouth ulcers and gum disease.

So I’ve found shampoos that are SLS-free and now I’ve found a yummy-tasting toothpaste by a brand called JĀSÖN who declare themselves to have been a natural pioneering company since 1959. Looks like an American brand. The toothpaste is called Powersmile All Natural Enzyme Brightening Tooth Gel with papaya and pineapple enzymes. It’s fluoride and SLS-free, with natural tea tree and neem oils.

It really tastes no different from fluoride containing toothpastes but it doesn’t later quite as much due to the lack of SLS. But I’m not complaining. I’m busy eradicating all nasty chemicals from my life. And I’m into week two of vegetarianism. No dramas at all. The cookbooks I had sent down from Auckland are amazing and I’ve whipped up quite a few great dishes if I do say so myself. I don’t miss meat at all. I didn’t eat much red meat anyway but I did like chicken and turkey. I’ve rediscovered my love for organic Greek yoghurt and nuts so I’m happy.

IMG_7286 IMG_7288 IMG_7289

