So I’ve told you before that I have all the handwritten recipes of my grandmother and mother, along with my father’s cookbooks from the 1970s.  I wanted to make something for afternoon tea last weekend, so I dug out some of those old cookbooks and came across this one.

One of the old cookbooks I have from my parents.

Yeegads! Just look at the clothes and hair – talk about 1960s. So I’m guessing this is one of my mother’s cookbooks. Mostly all of her recipes are in a handwritten book but she did have a few cookbooks. I opened it up to find out what delicacies they whipped up in the 1960s. I must say cooks of the 60s seemed a tad obsessed with using suet in recipes and offering up kidney casseroles for dinner. As I was leafing through, out fell this recipe.

My mother was left-handed and she had a very distinctive writing style I’d know anywhere.

On the back of the scrap of paper, she wrote the date June 1948. Looking at the simple ingredients, I decided to whip it up and I must say it made a very light, delicious jam and cream sponge cake. This recipe really is idiot proof. In case you can’t decipher the handwriting, here’s the recipe.

Get 4 eggs, 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda and 1 cup of sugar – whack into bowl and beat for 3 minutes. Then add 1 cup plain flour and 1 teaspoon cream of tartar. Make sure ingredients are well-blended. How simple is that!

Pour mixture into a well-greased round cake tin and pop in moderate oven for 20 minutes. When cool, cut in half and smother with whipped cream and your choice of jam. Dust top of cake with icing sugar. Then brew up a fabulous cup of tea, sit in the sun and enjoy.

Just out of the oven, ready to cool and be cut in half.

It didn’t sink in the middle. I stuffed it up when cutting in half – still tasted fab.

Save

