Kept my word (to my myself)

So I think I told you in some post somewhere along the line that we have horses on the property but that neither hubby nor I ride. In fact, before arriving here, neither one of us had been near a horse. There was, of course, some sniggering from the horsey set that we would have the hubris to have horses without knowing one end of a horse from the other end.

I think I also said that when I decided to get my first horse (Karma) that the reason for doing this was so I could learn about horses and care for a horse. Over the last few months, I’ve learnt how to groom, feed and lead a horse. I knew all this would allow me to make up my mind whether I ultimately wanted to learn how to ride or not. I told everyone here that in January I would do it if I wanted to – learn how to ride.

I’ve kept my word. I have now had five riding lessons on Rosie who is a very sweet-natured horse. Fortunately, my many years of yoga have finally come in handy because you need good balance to ride a horse. My balance seems to be good and I’m learning many new things – like keep your heels down when you ride. At my advanced age of 108 years old, it’s great to be learning new stuff. I’m not very elegant at it yet. When turning Rosie right or left, my hand movements are exaggerated, I know that. And it’s really hard to keep the heels down whilst concentrating on everything else. It’s like learning to ride a bike.

My aim is to learn how to ride well enough to go road riding, which is big around Oxford, and maybe take Rosie out on trails up in the hills. I don’t aim to compete in dressage events or anything like that, although I want to learn how to jump eventually. But first things first: learn to stay on a horse and not fall off.

I’m not going to post a photo of me on Rosie just yet. That would be way too frightening! So for today, some plants I can’t identify (hello, Irene: what are they?) and a couple of photos of Zeph in his secret garden.

4 thoughts on “Kept my word (to my myself)

  1. irene

    This one is not feeling as cock sure and confident as before.

    The speckled leave is a calla lily. It has either pink or yellow flowers, possibly also white, not sure.

    The last photo with long fleshy stalks appears, from some leaves to be cannas. They have yellow, orange or red flowers. The traditional version grows to almost my height although modern ones are bred short. One variety has deep red stemas and leaves and is quite stunning. They should be placed at teh rear of a garden with shorter flowers in front.

    Not sure about the other 2 photos. I will try to find out what the puse pink one is.

    Reply
  2. irene

    Coincidentally I was reading a gardening magazine a the library yesterday and I think I have found your pink flower as Clerodendrum bungei, also known as Glory Flower.
    It orginates in China/India.

    Judging from your other plants I suspect this what you have because it is yet another one that suckers like mad and expands its territory each year without any help from you.
    Apparently if you rub the leaves they smell nasty, like metal or burnt rubber.
    They sound like the sort of easy growing flowers that I like. The flower heads seem specatacular.
    http://www.abc.net.au/gardening/stories/s1326241.htm

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.