This post will only be for the girls. And only for girls who like make-up. I read a lot of blogs and amongst my favourites are make-up blogs. Yes, folks: I do read the news and keep up to date with things but I like to browse the latest make-up collections. Since about the age of 12, I’ve had an interest in skincare and make-up. I think if I were to be reborn, I’d want to be a MUA (that’s make-up artist). Or a journalist. Or Prez of the Good Old USA.

Recently, the make-up blogs have been featuring posts on “my go-to make-up”. In other words, the make-up products one cannot live without and are used frequently. This got me thinking. Amongst the ton of make-up I brought across from Australia, what are my “go-to” products? A great mate will tell you – I used to stay at her place twice a week due to travel distances and the majority of my small suitcase was taken up by make-up. Whilst she took around 15 minutes max in the morning to get ready (and looked fab without any make-up); the joke was I had to start at least an hour ahead of her.

I told you recently that in 2011, I’ve made it my challenge to only buy NZ-made products. Casting my eye over my make-up collection has me a tad worried. Several “must haves” are running out. Quelle horreur! Whilst with some other products, I reckon I’ll be okay for awhile.

So I thought I’d show you my “go-to” make-up products. I’ve always been a MAC girl (for computers too!). I don’t think MAC can be beaten when it comes to quality eyeshadows – I’ve tried all the other brands over the years but keep coming back to MAC. I particularly like their Mineralise Skin Finishes or MSFs. I have two and I’ve had them both for well over a year and they show no signs of running out. MAC tends to come out with regular collections and MSFs are included so there are dozens of them. I read of one make-up fanatic who has collected nearly all of them.

If, like me, you are fascinated with what other people choose to use, here is my “everyday make-up”. Should I ever be marooned on a desert island, I’d need all of them. Couldn’t choose between them.

  • MAC eyeshadows in Naked Lunch, Bronze and Black Tied. Naked Lunch is a fantastic neutral, peachy-pink and is good to use as a base. Bronze is a great colour for the crease and Black Tied I use as an eyeliner. I have many other Mac eyeshadows but these are the ones I’d choose for that desert island situation. I use MAC’s Painterly Paint Pot as my eyeshadow base – makes the eyeshadows stay put for hours and hours. Tip: you can also use this Paint Pot as a concealer as it’s flesh toned.
  • then there are the MSFs – I have Soft & Gentle and By Candlelight. The latter was a Limited Edition and I’m so glad I have it. It’s a gorgeous shimmery peachy colour. Soft & Gentle is a permanent MSF and is a golden-buttery colour. Particularly good for pale faces like me. I lightly dust it all over the face on the spots where the sun hits and I also use it as a blush. With these MSFs, you need to have a light touch as they are quite shimmery and you could end up looking like a disco ball if you use too much.
  • then there’s the mascara – I’m still looking for the HG (Holy Grail) mascara. I’ve tried all the brands and favour Lancome’s Definicils as well as coloured mascaras. Nothing garish. I do like a good navy mascara though – Helena Rubenstein used to make one. For the moment, I’m using Maybelline’s Lash Stiletto Voluptuous, which I’m pretty pleased with.
  • then we have the mineral foundation. Because I have skin that easily flares up, I find mineral foundations are kinder to my skin and allow it to breathe. Occasionally, I use Maybelline’s Dream Liquid Mousse but, 9 times out of 10, it’s the mineral foundation, so it goes with me to the island. I use Pur Minerals and get this shipped out from Hong Kong via Strawberrynet. It’s a cheaper option to get the starter kit and I use Porcelain due to my oh so fair skin. In this kit, you get the mineral foundation plus a Mineral Glow (use as a bronzer) and a Marble Powder in Pink (use as a blush), plus a chisel brush. Pretty good value for NZ$47.50 with free shipping and the products last a long time too. I also use their Marble Powder in Bronze as an alternative to Mac’s Soft & Gentle.
  • concealer – no argument, it’s Thin Lizzy concealer in Miss Von Dita. MAC’s in NC15 and Maybelline’s concealer pen are also frequently used but I’d choose Thin Lizzy because of its excellent coverage and wearability.

The stash I would take with me to the desert island.

MAC Mineralize Skin Finish in Soft & Gentle.

MAC Mineralize Skin Finish in By Candlelight (Limited Edition unfortunately) - the MSFs last FOREVER. I have had this for well over a year and use it regularly.

MAC eyeshadow in Naked Lunch. Nearly finished - hit the panic button!

MAC eyeshadow in Bronze.

MAC eyeshadow in Black Tied, which I use as an eyeliner.

Lipsticks: from left - MAC lipstick in Syrup, Revlon lipstick in Ginger Rose and Bloom lipgloss in Tangerine.

Pur Minerals: from left - Mineral Foundation in Porcelain; Mineral Glow; Marble Powder in Bronze; and Marble Powder in Pink. Kabuki brushes I find are best for minerals.

Pur Minerals Marble Powder in Bronze on left and Pink on right.

Dodgy iPhone shot trying to show how it all looks.

Equally dodgy shot in natural light. I have not Photoshopped the colour of my eyes. Sometimes they are bright blue; other times they are a dull grey.

