As you know loyal reader, one of my New Year’s Resolutions was to only buy NZ-made products. So far so good but….I have to confess to a slight slip up in Wellington. I arrived Sunday afternoon and went for a brisk walk. I ended up near Kirkcaldie and Stains (a department store) and remembered that I wanted to check out the new Nars’ Calanque eyeshadow trio.

I’m totally for multi-tasking products or a palette of eyeshadows I can travel with. And the Nars trio looked like a lovely caramel coloured neutral trio and I suspected that the lighter shade could be used as a highlighter. I’m afraid that after looking at it and trying out the colours, I’m now the proud owner of this palette (a non-NZ made product). However, I did redeem myself later.

Nars Calanque eyeshadow trio

The colour on the left (the largest stripe) is a shimmery champagne with silvery flecks. Not glitter, just subtle flecks that catch the light. It can be used as a highlighter under the brows and in the corners of the inner eye to lighten-up the overall eye. The annoying thing is that this colour doesn’t really show up much and you get some fallout when applying. The middle stripe is a matte caramel colour and on me (because I’m so pale) is the perfect nude. It’s buttery and very easy to apply (I use MAC’s Painterly Paint Pot as the eyeshadow base first). The darker stripe is a bit too dark, a bit on the muddy brown side. It’s described by Nars as a “rich antique bronze infused with gold”. To me, it’s just a dark chocolate brown if not khaki but….used in the crease of the eye and blended outwards, it softens considerably. You really need to blend the three colours because they are not the best for layering (unlike MAC eyeshadows). The trio cost an arm and a leg but I will certainly use it a lot and I’m not disappointed with it.

Now to redeem myself. I ran out of a night-time moisturiser. Generally, I can’t be bothered with the day cream, night cream business, preferring to find a moisturiser that can be used both day and night. But as one gets advanced in years, one must try to stop the march of wrinkles and sagging skin! So it was time to hunt down a serious, rich night cream.

I headed towards Cuba Mall to an organic shop I know well and found a whole host of NZ-made skin care – Trilogy, Living Nature, The Honey Collection. There was one brand I’d never heard of – Madeleine Ritchie. A long chat with the skin care assistant and I walked out with the Madeleine Ritchie Manuka Honey Night Creme with Rosehip Oil. What a fabulous product this is. The brand has been in NZ since 1963, having originated in the UK. It’s rich without being greasy, oily or gluggy. You can buy unscented or lightly rose-scented in both the day and night creams (I opted for unscented). In the morning, your skin is as soft as the proverbial baby’s bottom.

