I was telling you yesterday about my quick trip to Sydney. I was running workshops and visiting the client offices – so very little time to myself. But, of course, Thursday night is late-night shopping in Sydney, so I checked out the new shopping centres. Halfway through this, I needed a coffee break and, since it was around 7.00pm, I thought I’d have some dinner too.

I selected a cafe in Westfield Sydney. I don’t normally dine in shopping centres but Coco Noir looked inviting. Mainly this was due to the macaroons proudly on display in the cafe’s sweets and desserts section. I’m a sucker for macaroons. I ordered a curry pie with salad and was very pleased with myself for ordering only one macaroon – pistachio flavour. Along with a cafe latte, I settled down in a comfy chair and watched the shoppers go by.

I have to say that all the coffees I had in Sydney didn’t compare as favourably to the ones I had in Wellington recently. In fact, I had breakfast one morning at Bambini Trust cafe and the coffee was lukewarm (the eggs benedict though was fantastic). I know it’s no scientific investigation but I declare the coffee in Wellington and the baristas to be the winner of my “compare Sydney to Wellington” experiment.

Curry pie with salad and pistachio macaroon.

Soft lighting, comfy chairs - a relaxing atmosphere.

Good coffee but not as great as I had in Wellington.

