I’ve told you my dad was a pilot and I grew up hearing this saying often – “pink sky at night, a pilot’s delight; red sky in the morning, a pilot’s warning”. My father always had a serious look on his face when he uttered these words. I never really understood what the warning was supposed to be for and, for some reason, I never asked. Duh.

It wasn’t until I was into my 20s that I found out sailors and shepherds say the same thing (substituting pilot for sailor or shepherd). Apparently, weather lore also has it as “Red sky at night, sailor’s delight, red sky at morning, sailors take warning”.

I consulted Wikipedia and found out that a red sky in the morning or at sunset warns of a possible approaching storm, which would be arriving from the West if it’s a red sky morning and from the East if it’s a red sky sunset. I am now enlightened.

So the other morning, around 6.30am, I glanced out the window to see a glorious pink sky. No idea if a pink sky in the morning is any different from a red sky but it brought back wonderful memories of my father.

 

