I’m sad. I’m about to run out of my beloved Moroccanoil. I swear it’s made my hair shinier than it’s ever been and stronger too. There is an NZ version of it with Argan oil (which is the oil used in Moroccanoil) but I can’t recall the name of it.

Moroccanoil is around NZ$70.00 depending on where you shop. Pricey yes, but the 100ml bottle has lasted for 10 months so far and I don’t skimp on using it. The NZ brand Argan oil I saw at Farmer’s was $39.95 so already a cheaper buy. But because Moroccanoil is sooooooooooooo good, I wonder whether the NZ version will be as good quality.

I was in a health food store the other day discussing this world shattering issue and the woman asked me whether I’d ever used Jojoba oil. She proceeded to tell me that it’s probably the best thing you can use on your face and is a multi-tasking product. You can use it as a moisturiser; lip balm; makeup remover; massage oil; cuticle oil; body lotion; and hair conditioner. Apparently, jojoba oil is similar to human skin oil and can balance out oil production. Being inherently lazy, I’m all for multi-tasking products.

I asked about NZ jojoba oil and the lady produced a 50ml bottle of Dolphin Clinic jojoba oil. At a frugal NZ$17.95, I thought I could at least try this oil out and see if it works as well as the Moroccanoil on my hair. If it doesn’t, then I know the choice will be between Moroccanoil and the NZ Argan oil.

I can certainly tell you that it’s a fabulous makeup remover – who knew. I find it’s best to mix half water and half jojoba. It’s true too that it’s a very good moisturiser. I’ve been using it for about a week now and it works very well under mineral makeup. At first, it was odd putting oil on my face but you just wet your hands, pour out 3-4 drops of oil and press into the skin. I warm the oil in my hands first. After a few minutes, it’s completely absorbed.

I’ve been doing some research into jojoba oil (Simmondsia chinensis) and seems one of the best brands to get is Desert Essence, which is an American brand I think. Herbaria jojoba is also good and is also American I believe. I’d like to get my hands on either or both of these to trial against the Dolphin Clinic (which is a weird name if you ask me).

If this jojoba oil is all it’s cracked up to be, I’ll be tossing out a lot of products and replacing with a very frugal bottle of oil.

