I’ve never been much of an egg eater. I like eggs but just never seem to fancy eggs for breakfast – unless I go out for breakfast on the weekend. Then I like nothing better than a good Eggs Benedict.

But I have to figure out what to do with eggs now because the chooks have gone wild. They are busy laying. And laying. And laying. We have eggs coming out of our ears. So I thought what better way to use up some eggs that whip up a good old-fashioned quiche. Growing up, I remember quiches were considered fine dining. Maybe they’re a bit ordinary now but I consulted my mother’s recipes and found an easy quiche recipe that requires minimal time and effort. My kind of recipe!

Basically, you can chuck anything into this quiche. I’ve whipped it up several times now and have used leftover chicken, beef, any veges to hand, herbs from the garden and so on. It cooks in around 40 minutes and is delish with a crisp garden salad. It doesn’t have a base, making it an even easier recipe.

Here’s what you need:

4 eggs

1.5 cups of milk

1/2 cup self-raising flour

3 tablespoons of melted butter

1 cup grated cheese (although I like to bump this up to 1.5 cups)

Filling – anything you have leftover, any veges etc. You’ll need about 2 cups.

Set your oven to 180C or approximately 350F (356F is the correct conversion). Meanwhile, whisk together eggs, milk, flour and melted butter in a large bowl. Toss in the cheese and fold through. Toss in your fillings. I like to fry some leftovers before adding to the quiche mixture.

That’s it! Now, pour the mixture into a large quiche dish and whack in the oven for 40 minutes or until set. Voilà.

