I’ve mentioned before that I’m a sucker for anything 1950s, 60s or 70s. If I had my way, I’d deck out the house in 1970s style – complete with mustard coloured walls, orange carpets and brown-coloured furniture. Or I’d go all Mad Men and opt for 60s style. Hubs isn’t into the mid-century era. He prefers everything in shiny steel, glass, chrome. Anything that has that industrial, minimalist look. Guess it’s natural given that he’s an architect who favours the Modernist look.

So you could have knocked me over the other day when I clamped by eyes on a BEWDIFUL retro red bread bin. We were in NOOD (or New Objects Of Desire) in Christchurch, checking out kitchen chairs. I was secretly lusting after this retro bread bin but figured that hubs would declare it oh so 1950s or 60s. But…to my delight and astonishment….he saw it too and loved it. To sweeten the whole deal, there was a 55% off sale, so my new love only cost around NZ$26.00. Sweet as! (as New Zealanders say).

