I used to be an English teacher, so I’m afraid I can’t help myself. I get VERY frustrated with the ridiculous business of confusing the plural with the possessive. Let me give you an example. How many times have you seen a sign that says something like: We sell CD’s and DVD’s. This is just plain WRONG. You only need the apostrophe when indicating the possessive (eg This is Kim’s recipe) or to indicate missing letters (eg You can’t have it). In the example of CDs and DVDs – there is no possessive form or missing letter. The sentence should therefore read: We sell CDs and DVDs.

Whenever I read a menu or brochure, I have a tendency to spot the grammatical or spelling mistake. I must say though that I was surprised to see the following mistakes on my Ballantynes’ coffee loyalty card and on a menu from Artisan. Spot the mistakes?

Sooooooooooooooooooooo irritating.

