Just because you’re 70 years of age doesn’t mean you can’t be fit and healthy. Being 70 doesn’t mean you have to retire either. Our new, new, new farrier is 70 years old. I say new, new, new because we’ve been through a few farriers over the last year. It’s VERY important to find a farrier who you feel comfortable with and who will take the time to do a proper trim and be caring with your horses. Especially so with Rosie as her hooves suffered as a result of seedy toe.

So along came our new farrier. He proceeded to spend about two hours trimming all my horse’s hooves and explaining everything he was doing. He talked about the coffin bone, the navicular bone and the correct angles of the natural hoof. He follows natural horsemanship and was positively brilliant with my stallion, Muff. He declared Muff to be his Number 1 stallion because he was such a good boy.

What got me though was how fit this chap is. He told me he was 70 and had been a farrier all his life. He’s whippet thin – guess I would be too doing all that bending, picking up horse hooves and so on. His mind is sharp and there’s no “old man” about him.

From an expertise perspective, I’m intrigued about his vast repertoire of equine knowledge. He showed me a very handy technique for picking up rear hooves. He gave me advice on hard feed for my horses and told me about peavine hay. He offered up tips on how to best work with a stallion and how to avoid laminitis. He told me the best saddlery to go to in the area and what type of rock salt to get for the horses.

When this chap retires (if he ever does), his amazing tacit knowledge will probably be lost. Some of the younger farriers I’ve used were nowhere near his level of professionalism and expertise. Thankfully, I’ve found the perfect farrier. My horses are happy; I’m happy.

Hope I'm this agile and fit when I'm 70 years old.

