It was actually my great Oz mate who came up with the term, Donk-Mahal. And it refers to a shelter built especially for donkeys. Nope, I haven’t gone wild and brought donkeys onto the property to live with horses, cows, sheep, goats, chickens, Zeph and Zsa Zsa (phew, that’s a long list of animals).

Our British friends already have a horse and donkey and they recently acquired two “rescue donkeys”. I really admire them for this. These are two old donkeys, around 25 or 30 years old and sadly, they are in fairly poor condition. So they’ve been rescued and a brand new, very impressive shelter has been built for them. As our friends would tell you, not bad for a couple of pointy-headed scientists with PhDs! The shelter has a salt lick, a trough for hay and keeps the donkeys out of the wind and rain. Our friends live on a property that is pretty exposed, so it’s important to give the donkeys adequate shelter.

I was amazed by the rather large heads on the two donkeys. I think my friend said they’re American donkeys but not sure. One of them seemed to want constant cuddles and pats. I guess when you’ve not been looked after and you’re suddenly on a property with humans who want you to be loved and cared for, you take any opp to get a cuddle 🙂

This is the younger of the two donkeys - I think around 20 or 25 years old.

The older one was a bit aloof. Apparently, he'd been feral until about 6 months ago.

Donk-Mahal - lovingly handbuilt.

I'm liking these pats - give me more!

