And speaking of the step-son, La Familia is also staying with me. That is, my mother-in-law and my sister-in-law. My mother-in-law is Portuguese but lives with my sister-in-law in South Africa (she’s also Portuguese but was educated mainly in South Africa, as was hubs).

I struck it lucky with my mum-in-law. She’s now 78 years old and is the sweetest lady. Very gracious. She came to visit hubs and me in Oz in 2008 and spent a month with us. She gave me an emerald and diamond ring she bought for herself in the 1960s or 1970s and asked that when I wear it, I think of her. So I brought it with me to Rome (I wear it often) and she was delighted to see me wear it.

Both of them were in Portugal on holidays, so it was a pretty easy hop over to Rome. And the step-son arrived the same day from Nice, France. So lots of languages being spoken in the apartment. But only English from me I’m afraid.

My mother-in-law in the Pantheon.

Grandmother and grandson.

My sister-in-law.

La Familia minus hubs – who was gazing at the architecture of the Pantheon because he’s an architect. And that’s what architects do – stare at buildings.

Diamond & emerald ring my mother-in-law gave me. She bought it in Portugal in the 1960s or 1970s she said. I love anything from those decades but it has a 70s look if you ask me.

