Regular readers would know of my penchant for reading menus and finding grammatical or spelling mistakes. I told you of the fish willing to be cooked and now I can tell you about chop of pig and meatballs to the pizzaiola.

I was in Testaccio, which is about a 10 minute walk from the apartment in Circo Massimo, and stopped off for a bite to eat for lunch. I must tell you about Testaccio – it’s a wonderful area, full of very friendly people. One of the shop owners said to me (in good English I might add), that Testaccio is a bit like Greenwich Village in New York – full of artistic, slightly bohemian people. The neighbourhood used to be (maybe still is) somewhat left-wing. I much prefer Testaccio to Circo Massimo, which basically has not much happening other than Circo Massimo itself.

But back to the chop of pig. So I pick up the menu and find items such as – breast of chicken to the plate; scalopine to the mushrooms; beefsteak of steer; meatballs to the pizzaiola; and the wonderfully named chop of pig. These conjure up rather amusing mental images. I mean where else are you going to find the breast of chicken other than on a plate? On the floor perhaps? And meatballs to the pizzaiola? I had to work this out – I think that pizzaiola is a pasta sauce made from tomato and oregano. So I guess the pasta and sauce include meatballs. And chop of pig? Presumably, this is a pork chop.

I’m just thankful that spotted dog to the plate wasn’t on the menu. In most outdoor cafes in Rome, you’ll find someone bringing along their faithful canine companion –  in this case, a rather lovely black and white spotted dog enjoying the shade.

