I love my coffee. Growing up, I was a tea drinker. I don’t think I was allowed coffee until I was about 15 or 16 years old. My family weren’t coffee drinkers at all. Well, my mother took up coffee in her 80s. Go figure. I’m no coffee snob and I don’t like very strong coffee. Just a good cappuccino suits me just fine.

When my mate stayed for five days in Rome, we took ourselves off to Sant’ Eustachio. According to the serious coffee drinkers, this is THE place to go to in Rome. The location is near the Pantheon, in Piazza Sant’Eustachio 82 and diagonally opposite Sant’ Eustachio in Campo Marzio, a wonderful 8th Century church dedicated to the Roman martyr, St Eustace.

I can tell you something interesting about this church courtesy of Franco. At the very top of the pediment, is a deer head with a cross between the antlers. According to Franco, no Italian wants to be married in this church because the antlers are like Devil horns. The deer refers to the legend of Saint Eustace and also features in a mosaic on the floor of the entrance to Sant’ Eustachio cafe.

So we sat outside, which I momentarily found off-putting. We were basically sitting on chairs in the gutter, with tons of people and cars passing very close to us. But this is all part of the fun of Rome. It’s constantly a chaotic mess of noise, cars and people.

Out came our cappuccinos and I must say the coffee was fantastic. I can’t describe the coffee, sorry. I’m just not a coffee connoisseur. All I know is I really liked the coffee, which is the Sant’ Eustachio Coffee Blend, 100% Arabica. The inside of the cafe was far more fascinating. You can buy ground coffee and coffee beans, chocolate as well as Sant’ Eustachio coffee and espresso cups and saucers. I’m considering buying hubs an espresso coffee cup set for Euro 12.00.

The yellow colour of the Sant’ Eustachio brand is quite striking with the deer logo. The shop was pretty crowded so I wandered to the back where I spotted some old coffee making equipment and some 1940s looking cabinet with Sant’ Eustachio labels on it.

So if you’re near the Pantheon, take the time to go to Sant’ Eustachio. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

