I still have a few things to tell you about my stay in Rome. I visited Macro, Rome’s Museum of Contemporary Art (Museo d’Arte Contemporanea di Roma, Via Nizza 138). Hubs was desperate to see it because it had been designed by the Iraqi-British architect, Zaha Hadid. She was a visiting lecturer during the time hubs was studying to be an architect and he was very keen to see her work.

Whilst he oohed and aahed over the building and took thousands of photos, I oohed and aahed over the fabulous red sculpture things in the gardens outside. I couldn’t understand the Italian dude who was trying to tell me about them. I’ve looked on the Macro website but can’t find anything about these tall tulip-like sculptures. They’re probably by some famous person but I can’t tell you. If someone knows anything about them, please leave a comment. I was really fascinated by them.

There was a light breeze the day we visited and the sculptures were swaying gently. I took the photos around 4.00pm as the sun was shining through the red of the sculptures. This effect really made the sculptures look amazing. Frankly, I didn’t like many of the art works inside the museum but the photographic exhibition was incredible and the cavernous space of Macro is certainly something to see.

