In the days before leaving Bangkok, sandbags outside buildings were a common sight. I remember reading somewhere, many years ago, that there is a specific way sandbags should be stacked for flood protection and that the bags form a dike that also needs to be protected with plastic. And pumps are required to remove any water that seeps through. This is about all I remember so I sure hope that the residents of Bangkok know about sandbagging for flood protection.

All along the roads of the city, I’d see sandbags dumped outside offices and buildings, including Prada, Louis Vuitton and an Indian temple for worshipping Ganesh, the Hindu elephant deity. The height of the sandbags differed. I guess it is a matter of how many sandbags you can get hold of, along with trying to estimate – from all the confusing announcements – just how high the flood waters will get.

