Whilst in Thailand, I ran across a skincare range from a company that originally produced a scalp cleanser for Buddhist monks. From this first product, the range has expanded to moisturisers, eye creams, shampoos and conditioners, body oils, hand creams and so on.

Hubs and I were breezing through JJ Mall in Chatuchak (Bangkok), which is basically one huge shopping mall of individual shops filled with fascinating Thai crafts, jewellery, clothes, antiques and so on. I spotted a large shop stuffed with skincare and we stopped to test a few products. Hubs road tested the hand cream and I road tested the moisturizer. We then browsed around for a couple of hours before noticing how soft our respective hands were. So we decided to go back to the shop and found out more about the products.

The company is called Putonnam and I bought the Gold Herbal Siam Origin Day & Night Natural Moisturizer Cream plus the Anti-Wrinkle Eye Contour Gel. Hubs bought the scalp cleanser and after shave gel – and declares both to be very good. They tossed in a hand and nail cream for us to try. I was told the product range uses cumin and turmeric, as well as certain Thai herbs.

Let me start off with the eye contour gel. The website says it’s free of fragrance and is nourishing for the sensitive skin around the eye area. It certainly is nourishing but there is a distinct (albeit faint) smell to the eye cream. The main ingredients are cucumber and aloe vera but there’s also something else that gives the cream a herbal whiff. And I’m not sure why it’s called a gel when it’s a rich cream. As an eye cream, it’s pretty good actually and, assuming there is no nasty stuff in there, I’d be happy to repurchase. It’s creamy without being greasy and you don’t wake up with puffy eyes due to the cream being too rich.

As for the Day & Night Natural Moisturizer cream – well, this takes a bit of getting used to. The smell is decidedly off-putting. The ingredients are: Jojoba Oil, Evening Primrose Oil, Collagen, Turmeric, Rosemary Oil plus a Thai herb. I think it’s either the Thai herb, the turmeric or a combination of both that gives the moisturizer a sort of 1960s strong hippy smell. But…once you get over this, I can tell you the moisturizer is very good and a little goes a long way. You wake up the next morning with very soft skin. The cream is yellow in colour so maybe that’s the turmeric. I’m used to white creams so this too is a little odd at first.

The sales person was telling me that the range is all natural, using Thai herbs and plants. The website offers an English version but it’s pretty crappy. I’ve been using the products for a week now and so far, so good. I still like Sulwhasoo though and will continue using this range because it’s available in New Zealand. Sulwhasoo is a Korean range of skincare and I think the Koreans (along with the Japanese) produce excellent skincare and makeup. I’m going to buy a cleanser from the Hada Labo range whilst I’m in Malaysia. Hada Labo is a very popular Japanese brand. I’ve been reading about their cleansing oil and the Super Hyaluronic Acid (SHA) Hydrating Lotion. This product is the star item and apparently one bottle is sold every four seconds in Japan.

I didn’t take Sulwhasoo skincare to Italy, Malaysia or Thailand – basically because the friggin’ bottles are so heavy. I took Innoxa Triple Action Gel Wash and Innoxa Super Sensitive Gentle Day & Night Creme, plus a Sisley eye and lip cream. All three have lasted for the three months I’ve been on the road and travel very well. No spillage or leakage.

Innoxa has been in Australia for donkey’s years and is also available in New Zealand. I knew that the heat of Rome would cause havoc with my skin, so decided to travel with Innoxa’s super sensitive range, which is an old standby. I also took my Clarisonic Mia with me and a bottle of the Body Shop’s Tea Tree Skin Clearing Facial Wash. I like to double-cleanse and I find this facial wash is good for keeping the skin reasonably clear.

Thai skincare.

Gold Herbal Day & Night Moisturizer Cream & the Eye Contour Gel.

