I still have to update you on a few things I did during my sojourn in Italy – particularly my weekend trips to Florence and Siena. Will get onto it soon. But in the meantime, I thought I’d show you some Italian makeup I bought. I didn’t go overboard at all (highly unusual for me!). I bought an eyeshadow palette; lipgloss; highlighting powder; and a fantastic HUGE bronzer. Oh, and I also bought a mascara from L’Oreal called Volume Million Lashes Luminizer Blue Eyes. I’ve spotted this in New Zealand but not for blue eyes.

The Italian brands are Kiko Makeup Milano; Revitage; and Deborah Milano.

Clockwise L-R: L’Oreal Volume Million Lashes Luminizer for Blue Eyes; Kiko Silky Touch Powder; Revitage Bronzer; Deborah Milano lipgloss; Deborah Milano eyeshadow palette.

Kiko is a makeup brand from Milan and I picked up the Silky Touch Powder in Almond Translucency from their store in Siena. It has a slightly pearlized finish to it, which gives your skin a luminous look. There’s no nasty fall out from this product – your brush glides across easily and you certainly don’t feel like you’re wearing a mask of powder. I was told the product is completely free of fragrance, parabens, oils and talc.

Frankly, I use it everywhere – brow area as a highlighter; a quick dust over eyeshadow; a light dust on the face; top of the cheekbones. Anywhere I’d like to highlight. I’m not sure I understood the Italian salesperson well enough – but I think the Silky Touch Powder (available in two shades) is limited edition.

The Revitage natural bronzing powder (Terra Cotta 01 Blonde) I bought from Beauty Point, which is the Italian version of Sephora. The bronzer comes in this elegant silver metallic case and is so big, I reckon I’ll enjoy this bronzer for a very long time. The sales lady spoke limited English but I’m pretty sure the bronzer is baked (a bit like the Body Shop Baked-To-Last bronzers that are made in Italy). Like Kiko, the bronzer is free of oils, talc, parabens and fragrance. My skin is VERY pale so the 01 is pretty perfect – it’s a light warm caramel colour and looks very natural. Love this so much I would certainly get another should I go back to Italy in 2012.

Deborah Milano is available at Beauty Point too and I really liked the colours in this range. Soft neutrals and earthy tones. I picked up an Eye Design quad (No 4 Each & Every Rose) and it’s a lovely combination of earthy taupes and soft pinks. The larger pink colour has a touch of sparkle to it and looks great as a base colour. The Euphoric Shine lip gloss (07) is a gorgeous dusty rose pink and certainly has a high shine quality. It’s almost like it has tiny sparkling beads in it. The gloss itself isn’t tacky and I’d certainly buy this again. I’m wearing the lip gloss in the photo that accompanies this post.

I didn’t have much time to check out more Italian cosmetic brands but from the stuff I picked up, I can tell you they are top quality. Oh and the L’Oreal Mascara is very good. No clumping and your lashes do end up looking fuller. I still think I prefer Maybelline’s Lash Stiletto.

