There’s been a death in the family. My much-loved pillow finally bit the dust after more years than I care to admit. I loved that pillow. It was a contour pillow, which now seems to be referred to as a memory foam pillow. You know: the sort that moulds to your personal contours. But over the last few months, I noticed it seemed to be a bit worse for wear and so made the decision to get a new one.

And in line with my New Year’s Resolution to only buy an NZ-made product wherever possible, I hunted down a therapeutic pillow made in New Zealand. The salesperson told me it’s great for people with bad backs or necks. Well, I don’t have either of those issues but I do like to sleep on my side and this pillow is designed for back and side sleepers. It’s made from Smart Foam, whatever that is. I think the salesperson waffled on about NASA in relation to the Smart Foam, so it’s probably some whiz bang technology from the Space Shuttle.

Whatever. What I can tell you is that it’s super comfortable. The part of the pillow that slots under your neck is slightly higher than I am used to but, I must say, from the very first night with this pillow, I’ve had the best sleep. I’m not a great sleeper actually. I take AGES to nod off. The brain is like a hamster on the treadmill, going round and round. Thinking of the day’s events. What I should have done with my life instead of what I have done. Blah blah. And then I often wake up two or three times during the night. Boring.

I have a couple of favourite mental games I play when it’s hard for me to sleep. First game is to rattle off as quickly as possible all 50 states in the good old US of A. I’m sure I’m one of the few non-Americans who can name all 50 states without hesitation. If I’m still awake after this, I then rattle off all the actors and actresses I can think of.

Growing up, I was a HUGE fan of Bill Collins aka Mr Golden Years of Hollywood. I was glued to the TV every Saturday night at 8.30pm, waiting for his insightful commentary as he introduced whatever classic Hollywood film he was about to show. My all-time favourite movies that Bill Collins taught me to love are: Laura (with that most stunning of actresses, Gene Tierney); The Rains Came with Tyrone Power and Myrna Loy; and The Maltese Falcon with the oddly sexy Humphrey Bogart.

Where was I? Oh, yes. Back to the pillow. So I’m thinking that this pillow is responsible for my newly found sleeping pattern. I now nod off pretty quickly and stay out for the whole night. Wonder what’s in this Smart Foam?

The pillow wasn’t cheap at NZ $80.00 but well worth it if you ask me. And bonus – made in New Zealand.

