I showed you the makeup I took for my 2.5 month stay in Rome and I said that I would downsize for my recent two week trip to Malaysia and Thailand. Well, how did I go? Firstly, I decided to take a smaller makeup bag. I figured that would force me to cut down. My great mate travelled Qantas First Class on some trip she did and ended up with a spare Collette Dinnigan-designed silk toiletry bag that was full of Payot products. She threw the bag and Payot stuff my way and I wasn’t complaining. I’ve used the bag a lot actually.

Next up, I decided to take multi-tasking products with me, as well as Asian makeup brands. I do think that the Japanese and Koreans are very good at skincare and makeup. I particularly like the Korean brand, Laneige, for makeup. Laneige is derived from French and means snow. Their eye-makeup is very good. You get good colour pay-off and no messy fall out.

I only took one blush with me (well, two if you count Thin Lizzy, which I actually used as a bronzer). My brushes seemed to almost outnumber the makeup. Anyway here’s what I took. Click to enlarge the photos below so you can see all the items.

EYES

  • Laneige Multi-Professional eyeshadow palette (01). The eyeshadows are a mixture of shimmer, cream and powder. The cream shade (upper left) can be used as a base and to highlight the centre of the eyelid. The base colour (upper right) has a slight pearlescent sheen to it, whilst the two brown shades can be used in the crease and to line the eyes. This is a great quad for giving a natural look and the case is sturdy with a laser-disc like silver cover that reflects rainbow colours.
  • Three single Laneige eyeshadows – SYR31 Nude Beige; DY38 Deep Brown; and DY32 Soft Brown. The latter shade doubles as an eyebrow colour.
  • My three favourite MAC eyeshadows that I’ve used for centuries – Naked Lunch, Orb and Bronze.
  • Rimmel Glam ‘Eyes quad in in Smokey Brun. A very versatile eyeshadow palette.
  • MAC Eye Kohl in Teddy.
  • MAC Paint Pot in Painterly. I use this as an eyeshadow base and your eyeshadow stays put.
  • L’Oreal Volume Million Lashes Luminizer Blue Eyes – I bought this at Sephora in Rome. No clumping with this mascara and I think there’s a very slight deep purple in this mascara, although it looks black when you apply. Great for blue eyes.
  • Maybelline Lash Stiletto mascara in Very Black. My HG of mascaras.

FACE

  • Too Faced Primed and Poreless skin smoothing face primer. Basically, Spakfiller for all those nasty pores. Bonus: it’s paraben-free.
  • Clarins Instant Smooth Perfecting Touch – I use this as a foundation primer but it also smooths out wrinkles. It has a soft, mousse-like quality and is a great product.
  • Pur Minerals 4-in-1 powder – this is mineral foundation and I use it in Porcelain, which is a great shade for pale faces like me.
  • Three concealers – MAC Studio Finish concealer in NC15. A great creamy, matte concealer for all the nasty bits you want to cover up. And Thin Lizzy concealer in Miss Von Dita. I put a very thin layer of this concealer on the cheek and nose area before applying Pur Minerals. Thin Lizzy is a legendary brand in New Zealand. Also I took along YSL’s Touche Éclat Radiant Touch for the under-eye area.
  • For bronzer I took Thin Lizzy’s 6 in 1 Professional Powder in Light. On my pale skin, it’s the perfect natural-looking bronzer but it’s a multi-tasking product. I use it on my legs to give a hint of tan, on the neck, cleavage area and so on.
  • I also took my HG of bronzers – The Body Shop’s Baked-To-Last Bronzer in Warm Glow (02).
  • My HG of powders – Maybelline Dream Matte pressed powder in Light. A light dust finishes off the face and keeps the shine at bay, especially in hotter climates.
  • Too Faced Absolutely Invisible Candlelight powder. I tend to use this as a highlighter on the brow bone, top of cheeks, bridge of nose, Cupid’s bow. I bought it at Sephora in Rome and LOVE it.
  • Elizabeth Arden Dual Perfection Brow Shaper and Eyeliner in Soft Blonde.

BRUSHES

  • I should get better at knowing what brushes I have. The large fluffy one is by Napoleon Perdis (Australian brand). I’ve had it for YEARS and it’s multi-tasking – good as a blusher or bronzer brush and also good for powder. I’m sure it’s only supposed to be used for one thing!
  • Bare Escentuals Full Coverage Kabuki for buffing on the mineral foundation.
  • Various MAC and Napoleon brushes for concealer and eye shadow.
  • YSL bronzer brush – that’s the small one at bottom right of photo. Love this brush. It’s very soft and just seems to deliver the right amount of bronzer.

LIPS

  • I only took three lipsticks/lipglosses with me and duh, forgot to get them in the group photo. So I took separate photos to show you the colours.
  • The Body Shop Nomadic Goddess Love Gloss in Tropical Pink. It looks orange to me but it’s called Tropical Pink.
  • And my favourite lip combo of the moment – Revlon ColorBurst lipstick in 070 Soft Nude, topped off with Maybelline Color Sensational Creme Gloss in 255 Touch of Toffee. This combo gives a wonderful glossy nude lip.

So I reckon I took less this time but I still could have pared down. Do I really need to take three concealers? Or all those eyeshadows?

I received news this week that I’m probably going back to Rome for March and April 2012. So I plan to be rigorous this time and only take The Essentials (whatever these turn out to be!). I know I’ll buy some makeup and skincare in Italy as I did last time, so why bother taking heaps.

The Body Shop Nomadic Goddess Love Gloss in Tropical Pink.

My favourite combo of the moment - Revlon ColorBurst lipstick in Soft Nude, topped with Maybelline Color Sensational lipgloss in Touch of Toffee.

The smaller makeup bag.

