I’ve told you about Fritz before. She’s my second mother basically. My great mate emailed me the other day and mentioned that Fritz brought her home a take-away coffee from her favourite cafe. And what was written on the lid of the styrofoam cup? My name: Kim. Clearly, Fritz has not read my post on identity theft 🙂

In the post last week was a letter addressed to me and, when I opened it up, there was a wonderful handmade New Year’s greeting from Fritz (who’s real name is Rita – since you’ll see it in the photo below). She decorated the black paper with a heart and star, a gold figure (I think it’s an angel) and wrote her greeting in silver and gold pen.

I had to do a double-check myself though. I initially thought the flag was the New Zealand flag. I’m still getting used to the difference between the Kiwi and Oz flag. They are quite similar but the New Zealand flag has four red stars with white borders, representing the Southern Cross.

Whilst the Australian flag has five white stars arranged to represent the Southern Cross. Four of these stars have seven points and the small one has five points. The large white star beneath the Union Flag is the Commonwealth Star – a seven-pointed star symbolising the Federation of Australia, which came into existence on January 1, 1901.

There is a variant for both flags and I quite like them with the red background.

I’m sure I sound very knowledgeable about flags but a quick search of Wikipedia confirmed what I thought were the major differences. Fritz doesn’t believe we’ll remain in New Zealand. She’s said many times that she thinks we’ll give up the ghost and return to Sydney.

So I’m not sure if she is being cunning by sticking the Oz flag on her greeting card or whether she thinks the Oz and NZ flag are one and the same. After all, there is a recurrent joke in Australia about how NZ is or should be the seventh State of Australia.

For my American readers who might want to know a bit more about Oz: there are five States on the mainland being New South Wales; Victoria; Queensland; South Australia and Western Australia. And there is one island State – Tasmania. There are two mainland territories: the Australian Capital Territory (ACT) and the Northern Territory. Both are self-governing whilst the States are administered by the Federal Government. There is also the Jervis Bay Territory but this is counted as part of the ACT.

As far as I remember from my school days, the external territories are Australian Antarctic Territory, Ashmore and Cartier Islands, Christmas Island, Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Coral Sea Islands. There might be more; must look this up. I must also find out more about New Zealand and its dependencies. I know that a small island in the South Pacific, Niue, is an NZ dependency, as well as the Cook Islands and Tokelau.

From Fritz, with love.

