I’m contemplating starting another blog devoted to makeup and skincare for the older woman. Because my blog stats have increased since I started sharing stuff on makeup. Go figure. But since I already have three blogs, I’m not sure I want to start another one. So, for the time being, I’ll keep doing a regular makeup review post or FOTD.

I’m very much into the natural look. I don’t like a brightly coloured lip gloss or red lipstick. I don’t like dark, dark smokey eyes. I just can’t carry these looks, I think because of my super pale skin. But my eyes are probably my best facial feature, so I pay most attention to them. Followed by the lips. In high school, I was referred to as rubber lips – I guess because I have lips that aren’t thin. I wouldn’t mind having Angelina Jolie’s stunning pout!

If you were to look at my makeup collection, you’d swear I had a ton of eyeshadows in exactly the same colour. True to say, they’re all earthy, natural tones. I can’t stand blue eyeshadow although I don’t mind a subtle blue kohl or navy mascara.

I’ve mentioned quite a few times my discovery of Maybelline. Since being more frugal and, as I run out of cosmetics, I’m replacing them with an NZ brand wherever possible or Maybelline. I totally LOVE Maybelline’s Expertwear eye shadow quad in Natural Smokes. I took it to Italy with me, to Malaysia, Thailand and Australia. Whilst in Oz, I bought a second palette just in case it’s discontinued. I thought I’d show you how good this palette can be for the older woman.

So here’s the FOTD and the products used.

EYES

  • Maybelline Expertwear eye shadow quad in Natural Smokes – you can see it in the photo below. Each shadow is numbered for idiot-proof application, although the numbers in my palette have long since worn away with use. The larger beige colour is the base; the lid colour is a shimmery taupe; the crease a shimmery bronze; and the liner is dark matte black.
  • I actually do things a bit differently – I start with the lid colour and then I dust over the base colour to get a nude look. I then use the bronze colour in the crease and line the eye with the matte liner.
  • You really can’t go wrong with this palette combination. I sometimes use the shimmery taupe as a base to get a more smokey eye. When I say shimmery, we’re not talking disco ball. The shadows have great pigmentation and, if you use a good eye shadow primer, they stay put all day long. As a primer, I always use my beloved MAC Paint Pot in Painterly.
  • Mascara is L’Oreal Volume Million Lashes Luminizer (Blue Eyes). I bought this at Sephora in Rome and really like it. I haven’t found the blue eyes version in New Zealand, boo. You really only need one coat but I usually do two. There’s no clumping with this mascara and I think it makes your lashes look fuller (good for me as mine are a bit on the thin side). I’d certainly buy this again.
  • As an under-eye concealer, I used Garnier Youthful Radiance Anti-Dark Circles Roll-On Light. I don’t have dark circles – at least I don’t think I do. But I like the idea of a tinted roll-on concealer that contains caffeine and lemon essence. Caffeine has stimulating properties and an ability to depuff tired eyes, whilst lemon can soothe. I don’t use this everyday as I prefer Moisture Mist Circle Litener in Pale.
  • Brow bone highlighter is an item I can’t live without – Too Faced Absolutely Invisible Candlelight powder. I bought this at Sephora in Rome and use it every day – on the brow bone, top of cheeks, bridge of nose, Cupid’s bow. Anywhere I want to highlight.
  • I chucked on some Buck eyeshadow from Urban Decay’s Naked palette to fill in the brows. My review of this fantastic palette is here. I normally use an Elizabeth Arden product, which is featured in the photo below.

FACE

  • For years, I’ve used mineral foundations. Usually, Jane Iredale’s Amazing Base Mineral Foundation in Warm Silk or Pur Minerals 4-in-1 powder in Porcelain. But I’ve recently been rediscovering liquid foundations, which I apply with a MAC (#187) stippling brush. My current favourite is Revlon PhotoReady liquid foundation in oo2 Vanilla. It has a lovely smooth consistency. It’s not thick or gluggy and stays put all day. I only need to use about three drops.
  • I set this with Revlon PhotoReady Translucent Finisher powder. It’s a bit scary white but you don’t end up looking like some witch doctor. I like the finish it gives but it doesn’t really keep oil at bay and there’s a bit of messy powder flying around when you apply. I’ve read some criticism of this product – how it has sparkles or glitter. I don’t see that. I reckon it gives a glow to your face but is probably best suited to pale faces like me. Although I should go out into the sunlight and see if I’m sparkling like Twilight vampire, Edward Cullen!
  • Concealer is Thin Lizzy Concealer Creme in Miss Von Dita. This is a HG concealer if you ask me. I’m into my fourth tube.
  • Blusher is Laura Mercier Cheek Colour in Crushed Hazelnut. I bought this ages ago in Sydney and don’t use it all that often. But I saw it in my makeup box the other day, so dragged it out. Really, I’m not sure why I forgot about it (guess because I have too much makeup!). The compact is super-small, so it’s good for travelling and I’m contemplating whether I could use it as an eye shadow. You only need to dust just a little because there is good colour pigmentation and it imparts a lovely warm glow.

LIPS

From bottom left, clockwise: Revlon PhotoReady liquid foundation in 002 Vanilla; Elizabeth Arden Dual Perfection Brow Shaper in Soft Blonde; the Maybelline quad; Laura Mercier Cheek Colour in Crushed Hazelnut; L’Oreal mascara; Revlon PhotoReady Translucent Finisher.

