Once a week, I have a Big Day Out. When you live on a farm in rural New Zealand, there’s not much to do other than feed horses, cows, sheep and goats. Muck out paddocks. Repair fences. Install gates. And do all the other endless tasks that it takes to keep a large property under control. I’m not complaining. I have a much better lifestyle now than I had when slaving away in soulless corporations. And working for a few months in Rome as I did in 2011 and will be doing this year – well, someone has to do it!

But true to say, it’s good to get out into the Big Smoke and indulge in a quiet cappuccino or two. There are two local cafes in Oxford but sometimes you just don’t want to run across anyone you know. And chances are you probably will see someone you know since Oxford is a small rural community. I often prefer to sit in quiet anonymity in my favourite cafe in Fendalton or the one I’ve just discovered in Riccarton – Edward Hopper Cafe & Technical Books. This is a very busy, quirky little cafe where you can browse books on photography, architecture, cooking, art, warfare, cars and lots more. Apparently, it’s the oldest bookstore in Christchurch.

Actually, this gives me a good excuse to go back and do a review of this cafe. The menu seems to be restricted to cakes and slices but for you, dear reader, I’ll make the sacrifice and road test a few. ๐Ÿ™‚

My weekly indulgence.

