I’m trialling a new foundation – Max Factor’s Ageless Elixir 2 in 1 Foundation Serum. I just have a tiny bit left of Revlon’s PhotoReady liquid foundation 002 Vanilla, which I really, really like. But I’m all for trying new beauty products and when I saw the new Max Factor foundation, I thought why not. I’ve only ever used a Max Factor eye shadow before. But I remember my mother used the pancake makeup.

I’m not sure what the serum business is all about. The PR says the serum is designed to minimize fine lines and wrinkles and protect against age spots and uneven skin tone thanks to its SPF 15. And apparently the more you use it, the better it protects. Bonus: a skin treatment and makeup in one. Skin benefits are what these new wave of foundations are promising.  I read somewhere that it really isn’t for oilier skins so I was a tad worried I’d end up as a grease ball. But since using Sulwhasoo, I’ve noticed my skin is more balanced.

So I bought the Natural 50 shade rather than fuss over shades. This foundation isn’t cheap – it was NZ$37.99 – but worth every cent if you ask me. The first thing I noticed was how velvety and light-weight this foundation feels. It literally glides on and gives medium to full natural-looking coverage. It almost has the texture of a mousse but it’s more silky liquid and just melts into your skin.

Light reflecting particles diffuse light across the skin and minimize those nasty wrinkles. One small pump covers the face and I certainly think it gives good coverage that lasted all day on me. No cakey, flakey stuff going on. There’s a lovely whiff to this foundation too. Could be the green tea in it but it certainly isn’t distracting or over-powering.

It comes in a travel-friendly plastic bottle with a handy pump to dispense product. No idea how long the foundation will last but since I only use one small pump, I’m hoping ages. I haven’t been using it long enough to know yet whether this is my new HG foundation. I do still love Revlon PhotoReady.

Anyway. For the FOTD, here’s what I used:

FACE

  • Max Factor’s Ageless Elixir 2 in 1 Foundation Serum in Natural 50, applied with MAC #187 stippling brush.
  • Dr. Hauschka Translucent Face Powder. I don’t use this much because I prefer Revlon’s PhotoReady Translucent Finishing Powder. The Dr. Hauschka powder flies around too much for my liking and has an odd pale yellowish colour to it. Reminds me of cornstarch. Tends to be a bit cakey too but waste not, want not – I’ll use it up eventually but wouldn’t repurchase.
  • MAC Studio Finish Concealer NC15.
  • Too Faced Absolutely Invisible Candlelight powder – used on the brow bone, top of cheeks.

BRONZER

  • Revitage Natural Bronzing Powder Terra Cotta 01 Blonde. I bought this at Beauty Point in Italy. It’s HUGE and will last for ages and ages. I use it a lot and have barely made a dent in it. It’s a lovely warm caramel colour with just a hint of glimmer to it. One of my fav bronzers (among many!).

EYES

  • Jemma Kidd Eye Wardrobe Quartet in 02 Plum. I have to admit I hardly deviate from my taupes and earthy-coloured eyeshadows but I do like to break out occasionally. I have two Jemma Kidd palettes – the Plum one and 03 Green – and I use either of these when I want a bit of colour. The eyeshadows have great pigmentation and last well.
  • My HG mascara – Maybelline Lash Stiletto in Very Black.

LIPS

  • Revlon Super Lustrous Lipgloss #170 Coral Reef. What a vibrant colour this is. Love it. Reminds me of a MAC lipglass I used to wear heaps – Lychee Luxe.

I probably shouldn’t wear such a bold lip colour with the plum tones of the eyeshadows. Oh well; felt like it.

UPDATE: I’ve been using the Max Factor foundation for a month now. It’s good but not as good as Revlon’s PhotoFinish IMHO. A major drawback is that my tube leaked in transit from NZ to South Africa and leaked even more on the return trip (see photo below). When I arrived in SA, foundation had leaked into the cap and some of it was on the outside of the tube. I also find that in natural light, this foundation isn’t as natural looking as Revlon. So I don’t think I’d buy it again. The foundation has a lovely texture and is very easy to apply though. Shame.

Major leakage dramas! A no-go for travelling.

Jemma Kidd Eye Wardrobe Quarter in Plum. You can just see Zsa Zsa in the mirror!

L-R: Revitage bronzer and Dr. Hauschka powder.

Max Factor Ageless Elixer 2 in 1 Foundation and Maybelline Lash Stiletto mascara. Above this is the MAC concealer.

Revlon Super Lustrous lipgloss #170 Coral Reef.

