I had no idea that e.l.f. Cosmetics are available in New Zealand (e.l.f. stands for Eyes, Lips, Face and is an inexpensive, high quality American brand). I’ve heard a lot of good things about this cosmetic line but thought if I ever wanted to try it, I’d have to order online. But I was in Bling in Christchurch the other day and spotted e.l.f. products. And bonus: up to 75% off.

So I spent NZ$55.00 and came away with:

  • Contouring Blush and Bronzing powder duo
  • Flawless Finish Foundation in Porcelain
  • Tone Correcting Powder
  • Studio Complexion Brush
  • Studio Angled Contour Brush
  • Studio Glossy Gloss in Ballet Slippers

I used these products for a neutral-look FOTD along with a Dr. Hauschka eye shadow palette and Elizabeth Arden Pure Finish Mineral Bronzing Powder from their Bronze in Bloom Summer 2011 collection.

FACE

  • To tone down any redness, I used Moisture Mist Green Veil – a great skin correcting primer. I’ve talked about the Moisture Mist range in previous posts.
  • e.l.f. Flawless Finish Foundation in Porcelain. The product has a great creamy consistency and part of the attraction for me is that it’s labelled oil free. The colour works well with my oh-so-pale complexion. Coverage is medium rather than full but I find it doesn’t last all day. It seems to go a bit blotchy. I’m not sure that it’s oil free either as I ended up looking a bit shiny, which I don’t experience when I use Revlon PhotoReady foundation. I applied it using a Manicare Artiste Stippling brush, which is a less expensive alternative to the MAC #187 stippling brush. I’m 50/50 on this foundation I have to admit. It goes on well but…..
  • e.l.f. Tone Correcting Powder – like all e.l.f. products, the packaging is solid. It’s a sizeable palette with a large mirror. The correcting powder looks a little weird but the four colours are designed to be blended together. According to their website, the Blue neutralizes orange, the Green neutralizes red, the Pink neutralizes grey and the Yellow brightens and neutralizes red. I must say that the powder really toned down any high colouring and I used it during the day to mattify. This is a good product I’d buy again.
  • Concealer is Rimmel Stay Matte Dual Action Concealer Stick in Ivory (not in photo). This is really easy to use on any area of the face and has good coverage. I also used MAC Studio Finish Concealer NC15 on the under-eye area.

EYES

  • Dr. Hauschka Stone Colours Collection palette. This is my second palette because the colours are just such great neutral, earthy tones. And you have all you need in the one palette – the darker colour on the far left of the palette can be used to line the eyes. The colours have great pigmentation and the shadow stays put all day long, especially if you use an eye shadow primer. I used MAC’s Painterly Paint Pot, which is my Go-To primer. I’m not sure if this is limited edition or part of their permanent collection. It’s also the only Dr. Hauschka eye shadow I’ve ever used.
  • Too Faced Absolutely Invisible Candlelight powder – can’t live without this product. I used it on the brow bone.
  • Mascara (not in the photo) is Elizabeth Arden Ceramide Lash Extending Treatment Mascara in Black. It boasts Ceramide Triple Complex and Keravis™ to help lengthen, define and revitalize lashes. What the? No idea. But it’s a lovely mascara to use. No clumping, no flaking and your lashes do seem more voluminous. I’d certainly buy it again.

BRONZER

  • Elizabeth Arden Pure Finish Mineral Bronzing Powder – a limited edition bronzer from the Bronze in Bloom collection. This is such a pretty, soft bronzer that blends three microlight mineral shades into one sunlit bronze glow. It’s oil free as well as talc and fragrance free. It was selling for NZ$66.00 but I bought mine at a 50% off sale. I wouldn’t buy a bronzer for $66.00 – way too expensive. You don’t end up with an orangey look using this bronzer and you can build up colour.

LIPS

  • e.l.f. Studio Glossy Gloss in Ballet Slippers. What an ultra-shiny nude colour this is – it has a hint of pink and I totally love it. I’ll definitely be buying another one when this is finished. It’s not sticky and I only needed one coat.

BRUSHES

  • e.l.f. Studio Angled Contour Brush – I’m not so sure about this brush. You use the flat part of the brush to apply base eye shadow and the tip for more precise application of crease colour. I found the brush a bit on the large side and prefer to use it for highlighting the brow bone area.
  • e.l.f. Studio Complexion Brush – I’ve been using this every day and there are no signs of shedding bristles. The brush is super soft with dense bristles. Great for powder application or bronzer/blush. I think this has become my HG brush.
  • Manicare Artiste Stippling brush – a lovely soft brush for stippling your foundation. Every bit as good as the MAC version.

On the whole, I’m pretty impressed with the e.l.f. products, although the foundation was a bit disappointing. I’ve yet to try the Contouring Blush and Bronzing powder, which is said to be a dupe of Nars’ Orgasm and Laguna bronzer duo.

Clockwise L-R: e.l.f. brushes and Manicare Artiste Stippling brush, Too Faced Candelight powder, MAC concealer, Elizabeth Arden bronzer, Dr. Hauschka eye shadow palette, e.l.f. foundation and e.l.f. tone correcting powder.

Dr. Hauschka Stone Colours Collection palette.

e.l.f. tone correcting powder and foundation.

The foundation is labelled oil free but by midday I was a tad shiny on the nose and cheeks.

e.l.f. Studio Glossy Gloss in Ballet Slippers.

