Hubs’ family is big on parties. We’re talking lots of food and laughter. My sister-in-law has a lovely house, complete with outside entertainment room next to the swimming pool. Whilst in J’Burg, her daughter decided to hold her birthday party there and it just so happens that her own daughter’s birthday (i.e. sister-in-law’s grand-daughter) is the very same day. So there were two birthday cakes. Bonus!

Now, I’m a sucker for birthday cakes. The more icing or cream the better. And let me tell you – the Portuguese know what they’re doing when it comes to cakes and desserts. My sister-in-law’s hairdresser made the most amazing birthday cake. It’s a popular Portuguese cake full of layers of puff pastry; a sweet egg custard that tastes a bit like marzipan; and lots of cream. She topped it off with gorgeous orangey red roses.

The other cake was a chocolate sponge topped with icing and decorated for the 7-year old grand-niece of hubs. Nowhere near as delectable as the other cake but naturally I road-tested it. Many of the guests brought along more desserts and cakes, including scrumptious Portuguese tarts. There was also a wonderful peppermint cream thing that I MUST get the recipe for and I helped my sister-in-law make meringues, which were broken into a luscious cream and berry mixture.

I suspect when I get back to NZ, it will be serious diet time!

That's my sister-in-law holding a baby.

