It’s quite exciting dear reader to be posting on February 29. The fact that 2012 is a leap year totally escaped me until a week or so ago. Duh. I think I was too busy going up to Wellington to chair a conference and see my Uncle, then throwing things in a suitcase for our South African trip. Imagine the poor suckers who have their birthday on February 29. Do they only get to celebrate every four years?

Anyway. Today, I want to show you our Cape Town B&B (which the owner actually calls a Boutique Hotel). We only stayed there for one night as it was too claustrophobic for hubs (he’s an architect, so he’s very sensitive to space). True to say, the room and ensuite were all a bit on the small side – for two people anyway. And the location is not so great. Although it’s at the foot of Table Mountain, you really need a car to go anywhere. There is a cafe down the hill and a couple of blocks away but the real action in Cape Town takes place around the V&A Waterfront. We moved from here to a hotel within walking distance of the Waterfront and I’ll do a review soon.

I quite liked the B&B though – Ashgrove Villa. It was cosy and had a 1970’s vibe to it. I mean just check out the avocado wash basin, loo and bath in the oh-so-small ensuite bathroom! Bring back the avocado-hued bathrooms I say. The bedroom had a comfy bed, TV and coffee-making facilities (although despite instructions, we couldn’t get the TV to work).

Breakfast was served in the dining room with sunshine streaming through large windows. A very friendly, fluffy white cat took a liking to me and followed me around whilst I helped myself to the continental breakfast. Breakfast consisted of cereal, toast, fruit and yoghurt, breads and croissants. A kitchen next to the breakfast area is where you can make your own plunger coffee. You can sit out on the balcony and gaze up at Table Mountain but it was too hot for me. Or you can relax on one of the chairs or the sofa in the breakfast area.

Price was a bit steep I think (R850.00 for two people), given the smallness of the accommodation and the fact that you really need a car or take a taxi to a restaurant or the Waterfront. The hotel we moved to is a comparable price and four star accommodation. But the B&B is located in a quiet area (Oranjezicht) and the house is a restored Cape Dutch Revival 1920’s home situated on the slopes of Table Mountain.

1970's avocado-hued bathtub.

Breakfast area.

Main entrance - looking back from the breakfast area. Our room was on the right.

View from balcony towards Table Mountain.

The B&B cat in the sunny breakfast room.

Loving the avocado 1970's wash basin and loo. The loo even has a wooden seat and cover.

