I dug deep down into my treasure trove of makeup for this FOTD. Someone sent me an email asking whether coral and peach colours are flattering to an older woman and I also noticed plenty of people landing on this blog after searching coral and peach coloured lipstick for the more mature woman. I have no idea what older or more mature means these days – over 35? over 45? Who knows. And frankly, who cares. How old you feel is entirely up to you. It’s all a matter of attitude. If you believe you are old and act old – heck, you’re old. But if you keep active, watch what you eat, and believe that age is nothing more than a number – then you are young.

With these pearls of wisdom ringing in your ears, I bring you the FOTD using an eyeshadow palette I haven’t used in ages. It’s Avon’s True Colour Eyeshadow Quad in Mocha Latte. I had fun using this quad again although, I must say, that the colours are all a tad similar.

But you can work all four together really well for that neutral, everyday look because there’s a balance of frosted, shimmery and matte shades. The top left hand shade is called Latte and is a frosted white shade with a touch of champagne-pink. It’s a lovely highlighter. The top right hand colour is called Beige and is a matte suede shade. The bottom left is called Iced Coffee and is a shimmery caramel brown, whilst the bottom right shade is called Espresso and is a matte dark brown. All four have great staying power; there’s no messy fall out; and all the shades are buttery soft and very easy to apply and blend. The packaging reminds me of a Chanel eyeshadow quad but it does have a cheap feel to it.

I used Espresso as an eyeliner both on top and to line the eyes; Beige on the lid; Iced Coffee in the crease; and Latte on the brow bone and also a dot of it over the Beige, in the centre of the lid.

And here’s what else I used.

FACE

  • Foundation is Jane Iredale’s Amazing Base Mineral Foundation with SPF 20 in Warm Silk. Although I’ve recently been flirting with liquid foundations (with Revlon’s PhotoReady in 002 Vanilla being a fav), I use a mineral foundation at least twice a week. I find it is lighter and helps the skin breathe. The Jane Iredale mineral foundation gives a natural looking coverage although by the end of the day I find it a bit blotchy. It’s free of oil, talc, dyes and parabens although I’m perplexed that it tends to make my skin a bit oilier.
  • Blush is one of my favourites – the Body Shop’s Baked-To-Last bronzer in 02 Warm Glow. I love this bronzer with its soft golden sheen shot with pink and peach tones. Thankfully, this beauty has been added to the Body Shop’s permanent collection.
  • Concealer is Rimmel’s Stay Matte Dual Action concealer in Ivory. It comes in a very handy stick formula that is creamy and easy to apply. Not to mention great for carrying around in the handbag for daily touch-ups.
  • Finishing powder is Maybelline Dream Matte pressed powder in Light. An HG setting powder for me.

EYES

LIPS

  • L’Oreal Infallible lipstick in #423 Perpetual Peach. Just one slick of the lipstick is enough to give great colour. I do think a soft peach or coral colour is universally-flattering on any woman and works really well for the older woman. It’s a forgiving colour. I’m not talking orange; I’m talking a soft peach-based colour with a hint of shine. Matte lipstick on an older woman doesn’t do any favours IMHO.
