We flew South African Airways to Johannesburg and back. You’re on a Qantas plane though; just paying for a cheaper ticket. Waiting for our flight back to Sydney (where we picked up an Air New Zealand flight to Christchurch), I settled down to play Solitaire on the iPad.

I was seated in front of the window, overlooking our plane. It was being refuelled and cleaned. I think it had only arrived from Sydney a couple of hours beforehand. Amazing really – this plane winged us to Sydney in 10 hours and 55 minutes. The flight over was 13.5 hours (I nearly died of boredom). These huge tin cans fly for soooooo many hours.

As I was contemplating this profound observation on my part, I spotted a poor dead pigeon on the ledge. It was an interesting juxtaposition of dead bird and live metal bird.

