Finally. At last. It’s about time. I always thought Australia was the last country on the planet to get the latest fashions or makeup trends. But nope. It’s New Zealand. We have to wait and wait. And what was I waiting for? Revlon ColorBurst Lip Butters.

There’s been so much hype about them. How they are buttery and balm-like. Have great staying power. Are glossy and moisturising. Then finally: they landed in NZ about two weeks ago and naturally I was one of the first in line to buy a few. Yes, a few. Well three to be exact. I couldn’t decide on just one colour. A lot of beauty bloggers were raving about Crème Brûlée (095) , so I snapped that one up. And since corals are on-trend right now, I couldn’t resist Peach Parfait (025) and Pink Truffle (001) was such a lovely dusty rose shade – I had to have it. Ah, temptation, temptation.

I must say these lip butters remind me a lot of Chanel Rouge Coco Shine lipsticks. I don’t think we have the full range in NZ and they’re certainly not cheap. I nearly hyperventilated at the price of NZ$27.49 per lip butter. But they are absolutely worth their weight in gold. The lip butters contain mango, shea and coconut butter – so you know there will be some serious moisturising.

I’ll start off though by saying: Revlon, do something about the tube. It’s friggin’ hard to open. Because of the thin, black base (which should mean the product will last quite some time), you just can’t seem to get a good enough grip on the tube to open it easily.

Each square, translucent tube has the same quilted, textured pattern of the ColorBurst lippies and the colour of the tube matches the lip butter shade. Clever. The lip butters are indeed buttery and impart high gloss. They’re a hybrid of a lipstick and a lip balm and just glide on. Of the three, Peach Parfait is by far my favourite. This is the colour the beautiful Emma Stone wears in the ads and has the most beautiful gold flecks in it. I’m not talking glitter; just subtle golden shimmery bits. The lip butter itself is a gorgeous golden-peach colour and is perfect for pale faces (I’m MAC NC15). I think it’s one of the more subtle colours in the range. I didn’t need to reapply for hours and my lips stayed hydrated. I will certainly repurchase this baby.

Crème Brûlée, on the other hand, I’m 50/50 about. On my skin, it’s looking a bit frosty beige. The colour in the tube is a shimmery nude and I expected it to be a nude wash. I think it’s better for darker skins. The high gloss finish at least stops me from looking vampirish and deathly pale. I am going to toss this lip butter over some other lipsticks to see how it goes.

Pink Truffle is a pink rose nude brown with a touch of mauve – best way to describe it I think – and doesn’t seem to have the high gloss of Peach Parfait or Crème Brûlée. It reminds me a lot of MAC Faux and is very pigmented. I’m not a great fan of vibrant coloured or dark lipsticks and Pink Truffle isn’t quite as sheer as I’d like. I admit it’s a beautiful colour but not sure it’s for me. It does seem to brighten the complexion so I’ll keep with it and see if it grows on me.

I also picked up a new foundation. I’ve finished off my Revlon PhotoReady foundation in 002 Vanilla and whilst I really love this liquid foundation, I thought I’d give Revlon’s ColorStay Foundation 150 Buff (Combination/Oily) a go. Because I spent gazillions of dollars on the lip butters and the foundation, I scored a free mascara – Grow Luscious Plumping mascara in Blackest Black. I also scored some colourful packets of lollies that were being given out to celebrate the launch of the lip butters.

I haven’t tried the foundation or mascara but will do a review of both after I’ve road-tested them.

L-R: Pink Truffle; Peach Parfait; Creme Brulee.

Revlon ColorStay - in 150 Buff.

Creme Brulee.

Peach Parfait.

Pink Truffle.

