So now you know that I’m in Rome for another stint of work. I’ll be here for two months, until June 30 when I’ll wing it back to New Zealand. Praise all the gods in heaven that I was sent Business Class because I’m not sure how I would have survived the flight otherwise. The route I took was Christchurch-Sydney-Dubai-Rome and, to break it up, I stopped in Sydney for two days to catch up with my great mate and my God-niece, Emily. But the Sydney-Dubai-Rome leg was around 21 hours what with a stop-over in Dubai. Eeeek.

I arrived in Rome on a Monday afternoon and by 7.00pm that night I was zonked out and didn’t surface until 5.00am the next morning. Clearly, I was jet lagged so I decided that I would basically walk the whole of Rome the next day. This was my only day off in Rome over the two months and I visited all my favourite places – the Pantheon; Piazza Navona; Trevi Fountain; the Spanish Steps. I walked from 9.00am to 4.30pm with only a half hour stop for lunch at some cafe near the Pantheon.

Naturally, I also visited Sephora and have earmarked a few things to buy – a Chanel bronzer (Soleil Tan De Chanel 62 Terre Epice); Benefit Hoola bronzer; and, of course, Urban Decay’s Naked Palette 2. I clamped my eyes on this palette and I reckon it’s better than the original Naked palette.

Off to work tomorrow. Not really looking forward to battling it out with the circus that is Rome’s metro system. I took a train today from Circo Massimo to Termini and it was packed. I took another train to Spagna and the platform was jam-packed. I think every tourist in the world is in Rome right now, particularly Americans. I guess this is because the weather isn’t hot yet. It’s coolish, around 18ºC (or 65ºF) and is quite pleasant. The tourist hordes somewhat spoil things and you have to shoulder your way through the crowds. The Spanish Steps and Via Condotti were totally packed this morning and it was difficult walking in a straight line as I had to dodge the snap-happy tourists.

The Spanish Steps - festooned with tourists.

My lunch on Day 1 in Rome - panini with proscuitto, tomato and ham; along with the obligatory cappuccino.

I visited my favourite place - the Pantheon.

