By the time you read this post, I’ll be half-way home to New Zealand. Maybe more than half-way. Yes, dear reader, my time in Rome is up. I’m kinda sad about that but also feel it’s time to go home. I’ve loved every minute of being in this wonderful city, despite all The Dramas. But I have to say it’s heating up here and I much prefer colder weather.

Funny thing is: my great Aussie mate is also in the skies at the same time – winging her way to NYC and Canada. Fritz is looking after my god-niece, Emily.

My ankle is now fully healed; well the hideous peeling skin is at least. The ligaments in the ankle itself are another matter. At the end of each day, especially if I’ve been walking a lot, my ankle is a little swollen. And if I accidentally twist it to the right, ouch. I plan to rest the whole of my first week back in New Zealand. I’ll see how it is after that and maybe get it looked at if it’s not a lot better.

Anyway. I did much better this year than last year in terms of spending. Frankly, I was too busy working and so it wasn’t until about two weeks ago that I started to buy a few things. In Paris, I did go a bit wild. I bought the Jacqueline Singh stuff I told you about yesterday and also a gorgeous pink raincoat from French brand, Etam. This was a bargain at 50% off and came to €34.95 or around NZ$55.00. It will be super-handy back in wintery NZ. I took a photo to show you but it’s crap and the coat is now packed. So I’ll show you in a future post.

I know you can’t wait until I’m back in NZ to hear all the news about Zeph, Zsa Zsa, the horses, El Hubs and my step-son, who is visiting us from France and staying until mid-July. So stay tuned!

Meanwhile, I leave you with a photo of one of the last gelatos I had in Rome – at Giolitti near the Pantheon. Yummo!

