I’ve taken Zeph through a number of makeup tutorials but he usually snoozes through them. He’s missed some important tutorials so far – how to apply liquid foundation with a stippling brush for that flawless finish being a major missed opportunity – but he did stay awake long enough to learn how to do a natural weekend look.

This post can be skipped by all readers who aren’t into makeup. But if you want to learn how an old goat doesn’t have to necessarily look like a frumpy old goat, then read on.

Here’s what I used:

FACE

  • Moisture Mist Green Veil. This has become my go-to product for neutralising redness. It’s a great product that comes in a sturdy stick formula that you apply before foundation. It’s creamy rather than liquid. I’ve lugged it to Rome, Malaysia, Australia, Thailand – and because it’s a stick formula, there’s no messy leakage. I used this on the cheeks, nose and chin area, which are the areas prone to redness.
  • Thin Lizzy concealer creme in Miss Von Dita. This is the best concealer with fantastic coverage. I’m onto my sixth tube now. You only need a small amount and it melts into the skin. I used it over the green veil.
  • Revlon’s ColorStay Foundation 150 Buff (Combination/Oily). This foundation withstood the dripping heat of Rome and I certainly will always have this in my makeup collection. I applied with a stippling brush (I use one by Artiste) to build up coverage. I do find you have to work fast though as the foundation can dry quickly and I don’t like the open bottle design. I topped this off with Revlon’s PhotoReady Translucent Finisher.

EYES

  • Base is MAC All That Glitters eyeshadow. It’s a gorgeous shimmery golden beige and is one of those colours that works well on its own or with any crease shade. I’ve had this colour for years and keep buying it. Over All That Glitters, I dusted a bit of MAC Shroom. I normally use Shroom as a brow higlighter – it’s a light cream colour with a touch of yellow to it and a slight pearlescent shimmer. But I decided to layer it over All That Glitters and I used Too Faced Absolutely Invisible Candlelight pressed powder on the brow bone. I tried to get another one of the latter in Rome but, OMG, Sephora didn’t have it.
  • Crease colour is one of my favourite MAC shades – Era. It’s a light pecan taupe that can be used all on its own but I tend to always use it in the crease. Gaw-jus colour and I simply can’t remember how many little pots of this Mac eyeshadow I’ve been through over the years.
  • I used MAC Black Tied as a liner. This is a stunning dark ash grey with fine silvery glitter. Don’t worry, we’re not talking disco ball here. I don’t know how it would go as a smokey eye colour or crease colour. I think there’s too much glitter in it but I’ve never tried it other than as an eyeliner. True to say, it doesn’t last all day as a liner but I’m still partial to this MAC beauty.
  • Mascara is my current favourite – Revlon’s Grow Luscious mascara in Blackest Black. Absolutely adore the funky metallic green tube and I love the big brush. Glides on easily with no clumping. No panda eyes throughout the day either. Love.

LIPS

  • Before heading off to work in Rome for two months, I bought three Revlon ColorBurst Lip Butters – in Crème Brûlée, Peach Parfait and Pink Truffle. Pink Truffle is a pink rose nude brown with a touch of mauve and doesn’t have the high gloss of Peach Parfait or Crème Brûlée. It reminds me a lot of MAC Faux but I don’t tend to use it as much as Peach Parfait, which I think is THE most gorgeous golden-peach with gold flecks. But I used it for this weekend makeup look.

Zeph is, for once, awake during a makeup tutorial. That’s Zeph on the right. 🙂

