I’m a long-time fan of the Body Shop having used their stuff since they first opened in Australia. God, when was that? Oooh, 1983 in Melbourne (where I didn’t live) but I can’t find out what year they opened in Sydney (where I did live). Must have been similar timing I guess. So that makes it over 25 years of consistently using their products. More than a quarter of a century, yeegads!

I’m a great fan of several products:

  • Rainforest Radiance shampoo and conditioner for coloured hair – contains no nasty silicones, sulphates, parabens or colourants. Smells divine;
  • Baked-To-Last bronzers – I use 02 Warm Glow heaps and it made it to my list of favourite bronzers;
  • Honey conditioner – which was discontinued after many years and I think the Rainforest moisturising conditioner replaced it. I still have a bottle of this conditioner, yeehah! The Body Shop relaunched the Banana Shampoo conditioner (never liked it) so why not bring back the Honey conditioner eh?
  • Tea Tree skin clearing facial wash, which I use regularly with my Clarisonic Mia.

I popped into the Body Shop in Nelson whilst visiting recently. I wanted to see the Lily Cole Limited Edition collection. I’ve never been a fan of the shimmer cubes because I think, as you get older, you should steer well clear of shimmer, shine or glitter. But I must say I liked the colours of the Lily Cole shimmer cube palette (Palette 24). We’re talking subtle shimmer and the colours are pretty sheer.

I bought this palette as well as a Lily Cole Lip & Cheek Dome in Pinch Me Pink. The other colour, Crazy For Coral, would not be seen on my pale skin. And then I picked up one of the new 100ml Beautifying Oils – there are eleven in the range and I bought Shea. So to my review of the products.

First up, the shimmer cube. It’s fantastic but be careful – at the store, Palette 24 was displayed alongside a shimmer cube from the Body Shop’s usual collection. There is only one Lily Cole palette and this is Palette 24. The colours are Think Pink; Live Lilac; Go Violet; and Tint It Pink. The colours aren’t very pigmented and this makes it good to build up colour. Especially on older women, I just don’t think you want that frosty, shimmery look happening around the crepey eye area. Tint It Pink is the pale pink cube you can see in the photos below; Go Violet is the very dark plum brown cube; Think Pink is the russet plum red colour; and Live Lilac is the pale lavender.

All colours blend very easily and stay put if you use a primer. Tint It Pink and Live Lilac work very well together as base colours. I like Think Pink for the crease and Go Violet for the outer V. I experienced a bit of messy fall out but it’s easy to clean up. What’s very impressive is the packaging. You can take out each individual cube and just travel with that or put it in your handbag. Each cube has a little lid too. The shimmer cube itself is small enough to also take travelling or chuck in your bag. I’d certainly repurchase this and it has me curious about other Body Shop shimmer cubes. Mind you, at NZ $42.50, the Lily Cole shimmer cube is no frugal buy – but true you are getting four separate colours that I can see will last ages.

The Lip & Cheek Dome I’m less impressed with. I wasn’t too convinced about the colour but wondered if I should try something different other than bronzers. I like that it’s a multi-tasking product and it certainly does work well on the lips, although it’s a tad drying. I will use it as a lip colour but with chapstick underneath and a gloss over it. As a blush, nah. I don’t like the texture of it – feels sort of like plastic and I found it dragged my foundation off, even though I warmed it up on my fingertips first. Also doesn’t show up very well on my pale skin. I might try it with bronzer as a contouring powder – that might give more definition on my face. Wouldn’t repurchase but very cute packaging I must say. It cost NZ40.00 – a steep price for something I don’t think is that great.

Shea Beautifying Oil. LOVE. It’s a multi-purpose dry oil and costs NZ 30.00. You can chuck it in your hair; use as a body oil; use as a face oil. And you just need a little so the 100ml bottle will last quite awhile. I warm a drop or two in my hands first and use it to give shine to my hair (just a little: you don’t want your hair looking greasy) and I also use it as an overnight hair treatment. It’s almost as good as my beloved Moroccan Hair oil.

I also use it as a hand moisturiser. It has a lingering nutty smell and contains Community Fair Trade Marula Oil, which comes from the fruit of the marula tree in Namibia. I think each oil has a different base like Sweet Almond oil for instance. I couldn’t get past the Shea oil though; I took one whiff and it was instant lurve. I must try it with my Shea Body Butter – might get a lovely layering thing happening with the scent.

This oil is rich but not greasy and absorbs almost instantly. I haven’t tried it as a face oil and don’t think I will. At the moment, I’m using Antipodes facial oils – must do a review for you. I will certainly rebuy this little beauty.

Lily Cole Limited Edition shimmer cube.

Smart packaging – you can take each individual cube out and chuck in your purse or travel with it.

Each cube has its own lid.

Lily Cole Limited Edition Lip & Cheek Dome in Pinch Me Pink.

Cute packaging.

Wearing the Lily Cole shimmer cube palette and the Lip & Cheek dome on cheeks and lips. I like it on the lips but I think it’s too pale for me on the cheeks.

Wearing the shimmer cubes on the eyes.

LOVE! Body Shop Shea Beautifying Oil.

