What a great name – Bad To The Bronze. This is the name for one of the new Maybelline Color Tattoo 24 hour eyeshadows. I’d been reading about them on various beauty blogs and thought New Zealand would (as usual) be the last country to get them. So it took me by surprise last week when I spotted the Color Tattoo range in Christchurch (NZ $15.99 each).

Of the range, I think that Bad To the Bronze is the most wearable. It’s a cool neutral-toned soft bronze with a subtle golden sheen. The range is reminiscent of MAC Paint Pots but more of a cream gel consistency. I must say that Maybelline have upped their game over the last few years. My HG powder is their Dream Matte powder in Light and one of my fav lip glosses is from their Color Sensational range (Touch of Toffee).

The little pot has a thick glass bottom and a twist-off lid. I’m not sure if the same advice will be relevant for the Color Tattoo pots but, with the MAC Paint Pots, if you store them upside down it stops them from drying out.

The first thing to say is – wow, super-pigmented. I made a huge mistake with my first application and ended up with dark, dark shimmery bronze eyelids. Not a good look. Second thing to say is wow, stays on all day. I did use an eye shadow primer (being my HG – MAC Paint Pot in Painterly) but if you don’t have oily/combination skin, I think you could skip the primer business.  The shadow is very easy to apply and blend. Starts off as a cream but dries into a powder-like consistency.

Bad To The Bronze would be suitable for all skin tones and I can imagine would be lovely to wear on its own with a touch of eyeliner and lashings of mascara. So here’s what I used for the FOTD.

EYES

  • I applied Bad To The Bronze with a pinky finger but a small eyeshadow brush would do the trick too. Over Bad To The Bronze, I dusted Virgin from Urban Decay’s Naked (original) palette. In the crease, I used Smog and on the outer corners of the eye, I smudged some Hustle then used a bit of Creep to line the upper lid. Anything left over on the brush was swiped under the eyes.
  • Brows were filled in with Naked from the Urban Decay Naked Palette. I have fine hair and fine brows. Not much I can do and I don’t like thick, heavy brows. On me, it looks ridiculous so I fill them in as best I can.

FACE

  • Powder is e.l.f. Studio Tone Correcting Powder. I find this powder a bit meh. I have reddish-toned skin and the green doesn’t really neutralise. But as a setting powder, if you swirl your brush over the four colours, it works well enough. Would I buy again? I don’t think so.
  • So to neutralise any redness, I used Moisture Mist’s Green Veil. I’m into my second one of these. Lovely creamy consistency and blends very well.

BRONZER & BLUSH

  • Benefit’s Hoola bronzer for a bit of contouring. I have chipmunk-like cheeks so anything I can do to slim down the face I’ll do! I’ve used this bronzer for years; ever since it first appeared in Australia. It’s a great matte bronzer for fair skin. I need a light hand though because, if I’m not careful and apply too much, it can look muddy or orangey on my skin. I applied Hoola with the e.l.f. Studio Complexion brush.
  • On the apples of the cheeks, I applied MAC Mineralize Blush in Warm Soul with the e.l.f. brush again. It’s hard to describe the colour of this lovely blush – a dusty deep pink with flashes of fine gold shimmer and a hint of peach. This is my second Warm Soul; I like it that much. Like Hoola, a light hand is required for fair skin.

LIPS

  • A slick of Revlon ColorBurst Lip Butter in Crème Brulee. On its own, Crème Brulee is too pale for me. Gives me the vampire look. So I topped it with e.l.f. Studio Glossy Gloss in Ballet Slippers. This is a gorgeous everyday high shine nude gloss with a warm pink undertone. Love.

Hilarious. I didn’t realise that Zeph was in the room with me – you can just see him in the background. Obviously, he’s now listening to my makeup tutorials instead of snoozing through them. 🙂

