One is the loneliest number – so says John Farnham. Since the majority of my readers are American, a little education is probably necessary. John Farnham is an Aussie icon and I grew up listening to his music. He’s been at it since the 1960s and one of his most well-known songs is One (is the Loneliest Number), which came out in 1969 by the looks of this YouTube video.

So One is what I kept in mind when packing my makeup bag for my week long trip to Nelson. El Hubs and I took off for Nelson a few days after I arrived back from Stockholm. We are curious about this area of New Zealand – it sits at the top north-west corner of the South Island and is the sunniest region of NZ. Mind you, of the six days we were there, it rained for two of them.
More on Nelson in later posts.

I decided to downsize and take only one item of a certain type of makeup. So one mascara; one bronzer. Hello? ONE bronzer? This was a really difficult thing to decide on let me tell you. But I did it. Yeehah!

So here’s what I took.

EYES

  • Innoxa Naturally Nude eye shadow palette. I’m a great fan of Innoxa and use their Lash Define mascara regularly as well as the Pure Mineral Powder foundation. I really love this eye shadow palette with its soft shimmery neutral shades that would be flattering on anyone. There’s a light cream, taupe, warm copper bronze and chocolate brown. All shades are nicely pigmented and it’s a delight to be able to use all the shades.The copper bronze is a dupe for MAC’s Bronze if you ask me. The colours glide on smoothly with no messy fall out and they stay put all day. Great for a natural daytime look or the darker shades give you a smokey eye.
  • Mascara. My current HG – Revlon Grow Luscious mascara in Black. I like the fat brush and the formula is not that wet mascara crap you can sometimes get. The brush really separates the lashes and I do two coats. I love the shiny teal-coloured retro tube too and will always repurchase.
  • Eyeliner – Almay Crayon Contour Automatic Eyeliner in brown. It’s creamy and does not rub off. Bonus is that you simply twist-up the eyeliner so there’s no need to carry a separate sharpener.
  • Eye lash curler – I probably didn’t need to take this with me because my lashes are reasonably long. But I think, as you get older, curling the lashes is flattering. So I took along e.l.f.’s Mechanical Eyelash Curler. Works really well.

FACE

  • Moisture Mist Green Veil – this is a product I wouldn’t wish to be caught without. It neutralizes redness and comes in a creamy stick formula.
  • MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Light Plus. I’m NC15 with pink undertones so Light Plus is perfect for me because of its hint of yellow. It’s a great sheer coverage matte setting powder in a baked, domed shape. It contains light-reflectors for that natural look – love.

CONCEALER

  • Because we were travelling, I decided to take Almay Line Smoothing Under-Eye concealer in Light. Designed to conceal dark circles, I actually use it as an overall concealer and it seems to blend quite well. It’s not a thick concealer nor is it cakey. Overall, a pretty good concealer.

BRONZER/BLUSH

  • In Sweden, I came across an organic brand called Maria Åkerberg. I bought a moisturizer and anti-redness serum from this range and will do a review. I also bought a bronzer in Sun Kissed. I can’t read all the Swedish that came with the packaging but I’m pretty sure it’s a matte bronzer and it’s a lovely soft pecan colour.
  • As a blush, I took MAC Mineralize blush in Warm Soul. Such a gorgeous flattering shade – a dusty deep pink with flashes of fine gold shimmer and a hint of peach. Love it.

BRUSHES

  • I couldn’t take just one brush, sorry. Makeup brushes are like oil painting brushes if you ask me. The better the brush, the better the painting.
  • For eye makeup, I took along an unknown MAC brush to apply eye shadow. I’ve had it for years and the number has long since worn off. I think it’s #217 though. For crease shadow, it’s MAC pencil brush #219 and for blending it’s Stila blending brush #9.
  • And finally, my new love. Swedish brand, Idun Minerals, large kabuki powder brush. That’s the one in the photo below with the plastic handle. Had I known I’d pick up this brush in Stockholm, I would have left at home the Bare Escentuals and e.l.f. brushes. It’s the sort of brush that is all-purpose really but I used it to apply the MAC Mineralize Skinfinish.

LIPS

  • Forgot to include it in the photo but I took only one lippie – Estee Lauder Signature Lipstick in Apricot Sun. A creamy, non-drying coral pink. A great shade for the more experienced woman!

Innoxa Naturally Nude eye shadow palette.

MAC Mineralize blush in Warm Soul.

Swedish brand, Idun Minerals, large kabuki powder brush.

Voila!

