We all have those embarrassing photos of our younger selves. I think in some photo album I have a black and white photo of me at around 1 year old, sans clothes and lying on a sheepskin rug. Must dig that out for a good laugh.

The other day, I was doing some posts for the blog I have on my Dad. He was a fighter pilot in WWII and I was looking through his pilot log when….I found a colour photo of me, which he took when I was 17 years old. Since my great Aussie mate keeps insisting that I’m older than the Parthenon, then that photo must have been taken before photography was even invented!

I look at it now and two things strike me. Firstly, what on earth was I thinking? What is that dress I’m wearing with pink and white polka dots, blue and green bits and weird puffy sleeves? I’m pretty sure it was a maxi dress. Secondly, the hair colour. It’s been a long time since I’ve seen my natural hair colour. It was a sort of red blonde colour – guess it’s strawberry blonde.

Then there’s the jewellery. I remember every single one of the bangles and the silver locket. My parents gave me the locket I think for my 16th birthday. I don’t have it anymore but I remember it very well. I have an uneasy feeling that I was wearing blue eye makeup. Even back then, I was into makeup but thankfully I’ve ditched the blue.

This is me at 17 years old.

This is me now – pondering how many years have gone by.

