I warned you there were a few makeup posts coming up. We’ve had a few days of crap weather so what better way to pass the time than experiment with makeup?!

And bonus – I had a $40.00 voucher to use at Farmers (NZ department store) and I spotted the new Almay Wake-Up range and a gorgeous eyeshadow palette. I also liked the look of their Wake-Up highlighter and eyeliner pen. If you spent $45.00 or more you received an apple green makeup bag with three full size products valued at $66.00 – the Smart Shade Perfect & Correct Primer; One Coat Triple Effect mascara; and Oil Free Eye Makeup remover pads. The eyeshadow palette plus highlighter/eyeliner pen came to $52.00, so by coughing up just $12.00, I laid my hands on five Almay products. I do think that Almay is a tad expensive so I am expecting very good things.

Over the years, I’ve tried only a few Almay products. They’ve always been good quality but I’ve just never really used Almay consistently, although I’ve been keen to try the Get Up & Grow mascara – read a lot of great things about this mascara on beauty blogs. I do use an Almay concealer, which is creamy and provides great coverage.

I’ve been trying the stuff I got for about a week now and can offer up some preliminary opinions. So far, I’m not liking the primer or makeup remover pads. I’ll do a review soon. The mascara is good though but I’m finding the eyeshadow palette average.

For the FOTD I combined the Almay products with BB cream and mineral foundation powder from Missha, which is a great Korean brand. They have a couple of stores in Auckland and I popped into one on my recent trip there. It’s a very affordable, high quality brand.

So here’s what I used:

FACE

  • I neutralised my high-colouring with an HG product – Moisture Mist Green Veil. I’ve talked about this product many times on this blog – couldn’t live without it as they say. The cost is NZ 36.00 but this creamy stick has lasted me well over a year, so it’s value for money. You apply under foundation.
  • Too Faced Primed & Poreless Skin-Smoothing Face Primer – basically Spakfilla for the nasty pores. I don’t think it’s the best primer I’ve ever tried. Still looking for my HG primer really. I’ve nearly finished the tube and will try another brand. Recommendations anyone?
  • Then I used Missha’s Signature Wrinkle Filler BB cream with SPF37. Why SPF 37 and not 30 or 20 or 100? No idea. The concept of a BB cream is that it’s a foundation, pore minimiser, moisturiser, sunscreen, primer, skin protector in the one cream. BB stands for Blemish Balm or Blemish Base and was originally formulated in the 1960s. You can read the history of BB creams here. Western brands are now coming out with BB creams. I’ve tried the Garnier one but I feel the Asian brands are far better. The shade I use is No.21 and I think this is the lightest shade.
  • I like this BB cream very much. It does seem to even out skin tone and impart a radiant look. Does it fill in wrinkles? Ah, not really. I only need two pumps to cover the whole face and the pump dispenses a small amount. At NZ $69.50 it’s an expensive product but will last a long time.
  • Using the Missha Sheer Mineral Powder foundation SPF30 in No. 21, I dusted this over the T-zone area. I often use this mineral powder on its own for foundation coverage. Apparently, it contains collagen, squalene and caviar. Whatever. I find it very comfortable on the skin and I must say it does give a natural-looking glow. I would definitely repurchase this.

CONCEALER

EYES

  • Almay Wake-Up eyeshadow and primer in Revive. This is the first time I’ve used an Almay eyeshadow. Nowhere near as good as MAC but….does a decent job. The primer is on the left of the palette (see photo below) and helps the shadows cling. I then used the pale golden honey colour as a base; the dark chocolate in the crease; and the mint shade to highlight under the eyes. The pale gold colour has a touch of shimmer. The colours (except for the chocolate brown) don’t have great colour payoff, so you have to work the colours up.
  • The primer is interesting – has a slight shimmer to it and really works quite well. Although nowhere near as well as my HG eyelid primer, MAC Paint Pot in Painterly. The mint green is the disappointing shade – it’s too sheer and there isn’t a brow bone highlighter either in this palette. So as a whole, Revive is a not as great to use as it looks and I doubt I’d repurchase.
  • I used the Almay Wake-Up highlighter and eyeliner pen in Black Jolt/Iced Gold to get more definition and some highlighting. I already use Almay crayon contour eyeliner pencils in black and brown, which I very much like. They are creamy and glide on easily. Black Jolt is great as an eyeliner and Iced Gold does well in the corner of the eye to lighten and open up the eye. But as a highlighter I find it a bit too shimmery for my liking. So I used MAC Blanc Type eyeshadow on the brow bone.
  • After curling the lashes, I used the Almay One Coat Triple Effect nourishing mascara in Black. I found this mascara surprisingly good. It’s not super black and the mascara builds up well. There was initially a bit of clumping going on but after a few day’s use, this has vanished. I don’t think it gives you voluminous looking lashes, which I find Revlon’s Grow Luscious mascara does and I find my lashes feeling a little weighed down. But, on the whole, a good mascara I would consider repurchasing.

BRONZER

  • After not using for a few months, I picked up the legendary Thin Lizzy 6 in 1 Professional Powder in Light. Thin Lizzy is a New Zealand brand and practically every woman I know here in NZ uses the 6 in 1 as a bronzer. The (very irritating) TV ads say you can use this powder as a blusher, bronzer, eye shadow, face framer, contour and lip colour. I have tried it this way and ended up looking like an Oompa Loompa, so I just use it as a bronzer. And it works very well as a bronzer, especially on pale skins, and using it again has reminded me of this.

BROWS

  • I have very fine hair and it’s the same with the eyebrows – thin and sparse. Not much I can do except fill them in. I used the Make Up Store Microshadow in Smog. The Make Up Store is a Swedish brand and I picked up three Microshadows when I was in Stockholm recently – Smog, Ghetto and Saga. Smog is a very versatile shade that I use as a base colour, crease colour and to fill in the brows.

BRUSHES

  • MAC #217 blending brush to apply the Almay eyeshadows.
  • MAC #219 pencil brush, which I used to apply crease colour.
  • Stila #9 long-handle blending brush to eliminate any harsh eyeshadow lines.
  • IDUN Minerals powder brush/large kabuki brush to apply the Missha mineral powder.
  • Napoleon Perdis Mega Powder brush. I bought this in Australia many years ago and have rediscovered it. I used it to apply Thin Lizzy. In fact, whilst living in Oz, I used Napoleon makeup quite a lot. I still have some eyeshadows and blushers – must dig them out and revisit. Thankfully, you can get Napoleon makeup here in NZ. Very good Aussie brand.

LIPSTICK

Wearing the lot!

L-R: Almay Wake-Up eyeshadow + primer in Revive; Almay One Coat Triple Effect Nourishing mascara in Black; Almay Wake-Up Eyeliner + Highlighter in Black Jolt/Iced Gold.

L-R: Missha BB Cream and mineral foundation powder.

Missha BB cream and mineral powder – both in No. 21.

L-R: The Make Up Store Microshadow in Smog and Thin Lizzy 6 in 1 professional powder in Light.

