Over the last week, it’s been raining a lot. Rainy days can be, shall we say, difficult when it comes to amusing two young and very active English Pointers.

Zeph loves rushing out into the rain and exploring the property. But then he comes in with muddy paws and El Hubs has hysterics. Little Zsa Zsa doesn’t like the rain and prefers to stay indoors.

We have some games we play when it rains – play in the hay barn where it’s dry and warm; chase the dogs around the house; or play hide puppy/seek puppy. The latter game is great fun – Zeph stares at me and I stare back. This signals the start of the game. He then starts to run looking for a hiding place and Zsa Zsa and I pretend we can’t see his tail and hind legs sticking out from underneath the dining room table. We then look all over the house and miraculously discover him, just as we’re about to give up the search. 🙂

Then there’s dog rugby. If you’ve seen two English Pointers playing, you know what I’m talking about. There’s a lot of high pitched yapping and yodeling going on, along with rugby tackles in the air.

But the last rainy day, we were beginning to run out of games when suddenly I was saved. Zeph and Zsa Zsa spotted two ducks waddling slowly across our front yard on their way to the pond. Naturally, being gun dogs aka bird dogs, their instinct is to run around sniffing for evidence of birds. If I had let them outside, they would have chased the poor ducks and I’d then have two very excited and wet, muddy dogs on my hands.

What I found was that Zeph and Zsa Zsa were more than happy to spend AGES staring out the window at the ducks. They didn’t utter a sound; just stared and stared. Great game if you ask me – no movement and total silence!

Zeph and Zsa Zsa stare at two ducks waddling across the lawn. Excuse the grass – we are in the middle of landscaping.

Zeph is entranced as the ducks make their way to the pond.

