Zeph and Zsa Zsa are amassing quite a collection of dog bowl placemats. Little diva dog, Zsa Zsa, demands interesting mats for their dog bowl to be placed on and so I picked up their favourite one in Paris recently. That’s the brightly-coloured one in the photo below with Paris written on it. Zsa Zsa thinks she’s quite chic and elegant and pretends she’s Parisian.

Whilst in Paris, I also spotted a placemat with a poster that is so famous I’m sure you’ve seen it before. It’s called Le Chat Noir and was an 1896 poster by Théophile-Alexandre Steinlen, a Swiss-born French Art Nouveau painter. The poster was used to advertise the 19th-Century cabaret or entertainment house known as Le Chat Noir. I’ve always loved it and thought Zsa Zsa would enjoy drinking her water off a placemat featuring a cat.

At the same time, I picked up an Art Deco-looking image advertising Champagne Pommery, which is a French Champagne house located in Reims. There’s a reason for this – when Zsa Zsa drinks water, she often stares into it first and then plonks her nose in and blows bubbles. Hilarious. So I thought the Champagne Pommery mat suited her liking for bubbles.

Zeph, being a quirky boy, loves the Dog placemat featuring paw prints. I neglected to get them a placemat from Stockholm but I did get them each a warm-as-toast blanket with a moose pattern. Must show you them in a future post.

Zsa Zsa pretending to be a French poodle!

