I have a bit of a thing for soaps. My all-time favourite soap is Sabun. I’ve mentioned this range a few times before. Sabun soap is not the prettiest soap bar you’ve ever seen but it’s a 100% natural moisturising cleansing bar that has been hand-made in Syria for more than 500 years. I recently laid my hands on the rose-scented version. I’ve yet to try it but the traditional Olive Oil Soap with Bay Laurel Oil is wonderful.

A couple of months ago, I discovered another range of soaps that I’ve become a fan of, especially the Sandalwood bar. These soaps contain 100% pure coconut oil and are made in Fiji. Actually, the good thing about living in New Zealand is that we get products from the South Sea Islands.

The soaps are called Pearl Natural Soaps and are available in Sandalwood, English Rose and Natural Gardenia scents. They contain no animal fats or sodium laurel/laureth nasties. I’ve been through about four of the Sandalwood bars so far. Each one lasts for ages and has a very subtle sandalwood scent that just brings to mind ocean trade winds and balmy island days. I recently bought the English Rose bar even though I’m not a huge fan of rose-scents.

I’m dying to get my hands on the Pearl Natural Body & Hair Oil, which also has a sandalwood fragrance. You can bung it in your hair and also use as a skin moisturiser. Some supermarkets here in NZ sell the soap (NZ$1.99) but I haven’t seen the body and hair oil – so the hunt is on!

In fact, El Hubs and I are considering checking out the South Pacific. Because he’s Portuguese, we tend to visit his family in Portugal and South Africa. On the tail of these visits we have been to countries in Africa like Namibia or ventured to Italy and France. But we’ve never thought of going to Fiji, Samoa, New Caledonia or Tahiti. I’ve been to Hawaii twice and LOVE it but I’m now thinking that a visit to Fiji could be very interesting.

