I have a smallish box of makeup stashed away. This is a box I brought over with me when we moved from Oz to New Zealand. I just couldn’t bare to part with the makeup and I have been steadily making my way through it all.

I came across some Bourjois eyeshadows and a blush. I’m pretty sure I bought them at Sephora in the Algarve Shopping centre in Guia, Portugal. Or could have been Sephora in the Vasco da Gama shopping centre in Lisbon. Either way, it was definitely in Portugal. You can’t get Bourjois in New Zealand unfortunately, so I can’t tell you if the three eyeshadow colours and the blush are still available.

So in my continuing efforts to demonstrate that the older woman doesn’t have to give up the ghost when it comes to makeup – I give you my FOTD!

EYES

  • I used Bourjois pearl eyeshadows in Beige Rose 08 (as base colour); Bois de Rose Sage 66 (in crease); and Taupe Essentiel 63 (in outer corners). Really lovely shades with just a hint of pearl sheen. Very easy to blend and great colour payoff.
  • I primed the eyelids with my HG of primers – MAC Paint Pot in Painterly.
  • I curled the lashes using e.l.f. mechanical eyelash curler – really opens the eyes, especially for older women.
  • Mascara is Dr.Hauschka Volume mascara in Black. This is a natural mascara with beeswax, neem leaf extract and black tea. I very much like this mascara – no clumping and it separates the lashes well. My only criticism is that sometimes it smudges under the eyes if it’s a hot day (on me anyway). When I finish this tube, I’m really keen to try the other two colours – pearl anthracite and aubergine.
  • Almay Line Smoothing Under Eye concealer in Light under the eyes and MAC Studio Finish SPF35 concealer in NC15 to cover up any blemishes.

FACE

  • To tone down my high colouring, I used (as always) Moisture Mist Green Veil. It neutralises the redness in my cheeks, nose and chin areas. Over this, I applied a thin layer of Thin Lizzy Concealer Crème in Miss von Dita. This is THE best concealer out there.
  • Too Faced Primed & Poreless Skin Smoothing Face Primer. I’ve nearly finished this plus the Clarins Instant Smooth Perfecting Touch. I’ve said before that I don’t like the Clarins primer but the Too Faced one is reasonably good. I want to try other primers though when I’ve finished these two.
  • Missha Sheer Mineral Powder foundation SPF30 in No. 21 (I think this is the lightest shade). I like this mineral powder foundation as it provides good coverage and seems to suit my colouring well. Apparently, it contains 33 minerals. I must say it’s a very light foundation that allows the skin to breathe. By the end of the day, I don’t notice any patches so it has good staying power. Will certainly repurchase.
  • A light dusting on the T-zone of MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Light Plus. As you get older, you just want to dust powder on the T-zone area rather than all over the face as you might end up looking too cakey.

BRONZER & BLUSH

  • Benefit Hoola bronzing powder. I don’t know why I didn’t put this in my list of Top Bronzers because it’s a great matte bronzer for paler skins like mine. It’s not orangey but…I find you do need a light hand. A heavy hand equals muddy face. The cute box comes with a small flat brush and normally I throw these brushes away. But I thought this brush would be good to pop a bit of bronzer down the sides of the nose to slim it. Works well.
  • Blush is Bourjois Rose de Jaspe 95. In the pan, it looks a vivid lolly pop pink but there’s a touch of apricot and shimmer to it that tones things down. On the skin, it imparts a lovely natural-looking rosy hue.

BROWS

  • My brows are very thin – that’s just the way they are – so I filled them in using the Make Up Store Microshadow in Smog. This is a multi-tasking eyeshadow. It’s great as a base colour, in the crease or for the brows. Love.

BRUSHES

LIPSTICK

Zeph is now listening to my makeup tutorials. That’s Zeph on the left 🙂

