I can’t say I like odd-numbered years, especially one with the number 13. Did you know that fear of the number 13 is called  triskaidekaphobia? Although 13 is a lucky number in some cultures, the West views this number with a good amount of fear and trepidation. So I’m not too keen on the year 2013. I was wondering actually if I needed to worry about 2013 considering the Mayans didn’t think we’d all be around after December 21, 2012. But December 21 has been and gone. And we’re still here. Worst apocalypse ever if you ask me. 🙂

I must therefore dream up some New Year’s Resolutions. I never stick to any resolutions but feel virtuous just coming up with them. If I share them then maybe that will put some pressure on me since the whole world, the Internet, the Universe reads this blog (naturally!).

Okay so here’s what I have decided:

  • I will continue to buy products made in New Zealand as much as possible. On arriving in NZ from Oz in 2010 (almost 3 years ago OMG!), I decided to support my new country by buying locally made stuff and I’ve discovered that NZ skincare is fantastic. So this resolution should be pretty easy to stick with. I’ll try and source NZ made shoes and clothes should I need to buy any in 2013. Mind you, that might be tricky since NZ suffers from the whole Made in China thing;
  • I have also decided to try and support the Greek and Italian economies since they are in the toilet and need every bit of help they can get. For example, buying Italian-produced olive oil or Greek cheeses like feta.
  • I am going to see if I can exist on my current makeup collection for 2013 and not buy any new stuff. Is that laughter I hear?! I admit this will be VERY difficult for me and, just as I resolve to do this, Urban Decay comes out with a fantastic new Naked Basics eyeshadow palette. Should I run out of any item that is essential (such as eyeliner or mascara) then I plan to buy from the Greek brand, Korres, off Strawberrynet.
  • For skincare, I’ll be sticking with New Zealand brands. I’ve been doing that anyway throughout 2012 with my current favourite being Madeleine Ritchie. For facial oils, I’ll continue to use an Italian essential oil, Argital, that I picked up in Rome. I bought another one before leaving Rome and the two should last me throughout 2013.
  • I plan to stick with my French handbag and not buy another handbag during 2013. I do love a good handbag and succumbed to the temptation of Italian handbags whilst living in Rome for a few months during 2011 and 2012.
  • I am going to try a vegetarian diet. I love veges and have been thinking for some time that meat and dairy these days is full of penicillin and other nasties, which is used to encourage the growth of chickens, cows and pigs. I have a great vegetarian cookbook I bought in Australia about 10 years ago (hardly used!) and I’ve ordered two cookbooks from Auckland’s renowned Revive Cafe. Hopefully, I can share some of my own recipes as I experiment with vegetarian eating.

By the look on Zeph’s face, he doesn’t think I’ll be able to handle not buying any makeup. We’ll see. I’ll do an update in a few months.

IMG_6054

