When I was working in Sydney, I got off the train at Town Hall station and walked through the Queen Victoria Building to Martin Place. This route took me through the lower level of the QVB and I always walked by Lush. But….never went in. I have no idea why. For years, I knew that Lush was well-known for fresh handmade soaps and body stuff. What I didn’t know was that in 2012 they launched a cosmetics line called Emotional Brilliance.

I was at Northlands in Papanui (Christchurch) just before Christmas and I spotted Lush jam packed full of people. I decided to finally wander into a Lush shop and wham, I’m now a Lushaholic. Who knew? What great stuff they have. I bought a soap and shower gel and….some AMAZING products from the Emotional Brilliance range.

So I used them for the FOTD – my ongoing posts showing you that old goats don’t have to be old when it comes to makeup.

EYES

  • I used Lush cream eyeshadow in Sophisticated for the base. I first had to get my head around the fact that the eyeshadow is a liquid eyeshadow in a small glass bottle with a doe foot applicator. There are some very bold colours in the eyeshadow range but I stuck with Sophisticated as it’s a gorgeous pink taupe with a hint of silvery shimmer. You simply dot a small amount of shadow onto the lid and blend away. It’s very easy to smooth out and a little goes a very long way as it’s highly pigmented. Once applied believe me the shadow stays put all day long. These shadows are made from a soothing rose petal infusion and skin-softening almond and jojoba oils. GAW-JUS!
  • Over Sophisticated I added a touch of Sin from the Urban Decay original Naked palette.
  • In the crease, I used Buck and Darkhorse to line the eyes (both from the Naked palette).
  • Mascara is an old-favourite, Dr Hauschka Volume Mascara in Black.

FACE

  • I primed using Clarins Instant Smooth Perfecting Touch. I have a love/hate relationship with this product. Some days I think it does very well in covering up large pores and imperfections. Other days, I think it’s just meh. I’m nearing the end of the little pot and don’t think I’ll repurchase. Still looking for the Holy Grail primer.
  • And now to the first miracle Lush product – Jackie Oates colour supplement. Who the hell is Jackie Oates was my first thought – apparently she’s an English folk singer. The colour supplements are designed to be mixed with your daily moisturiser so you get a tinted moisturiser. But due to my high colouring, I need more coverage and the colour supplements can be used on their own. There are five colour supplements: Jackie Oates, Light Yellow, Dark Yellow, Light Pink and Dark Pink. Jackie Oates is the lightest base and is for pale skin with cool undertones, which are often sensitive and prone to redness. That’s me! The colour supplements use soya oil instead of mineral oil and I don’t feel like I’m wearing any foundation at all. It’s a tiny pot (20g/ 0.7 oz) and you think you’ll use it all up in a week or less. But a little goes a long way. You can use your fingers to apply but I use a little spatula and then my Napoleon foundation brush. It stays put all day long and will be fabulous for travelling since it’s a small pot. Jackie Oates can also be used as a concealer.

BRONZER & BLUSH

  • Bronzer is another Lush miracle – skin tint in Charisma. In another small glass jar but you get a heap of product. Charisma can be used under foundation to give that golden glow or, on paler skins like mine, it’s great for giving a bronzed effect. It’s made from oatmeal, cocoa butter, jojoba and almond oils and reminds me of Chanel’s Soleil Tan De Chanel, which I have but don’t use all that often because it has an orange cast to it. Charisma is far better in my view – much easier to apply and blend and gives a far more natural look (on my skin anyway). I can apply a little to the side of the nose and on my chin – anywhere I want to contour. Amazing product that will last a long time.
  • There are no Lush blushes but the consultant told me that the lip tints make fab cream blushes. I chose It Started With A Kiss because of its pretty strawberry red colour. The lip tints are made from lip smacking ingredients – fresh apple infusion, warming cinnamon and a hint of white chocolate.

HIGHLIGHTER

  • Yet another Lush miracle product – Feel Younger tint. This reminds me a lot of Benefit’s High Beam but it has more of a creamy ivory pearlescent shimmer as opposed to the pale rose pink of High Beam. And I think it’s better than High Beam, which I’ve used. It comes in yet another small glass jar and you can dab a little on the inner corner of the eye, top of the cheeks, brow bone, Cupid’s Bow – basically anywhere you want a subtle luminescence. You could even mix it with your daily moisturiser for that radiant glow. LOVE.

LIPS

  • Lush liquid lipstick in Perspective. Never used a lipstick in a glass bottle with doe foot applicator before but hey, it works really well. Perspective is a dusty rose gold mauve and one coat is all that’s needed. The liquid lipsticks contain organic jojoba oil, candelilla wax and rose wax to soften and moisturise. They can also be used as eyeshadows and cheek stains. Brilliant!

So I can travel with three little glass jars that will give me – foundation; concealer; bronzer; contour and highlighter.

IMG_7059

My boy, Zeph, is finally listening to my makeup tutorials. Although I suspect he’s about to nod off.

IMG_6988

L-R Lush Sophisticated liquid eyeshadow and Lush Perspective Liquid Lipstick.

IMG_6982 IMG_6986 IMG_6990 IMG_6992 IMG_6993 IMG_7024

