I love watching YouTube beauty channels and I especially like the Empties videos. This is when the YouTuber shows you what products, skincare or makeup has been used up for the month with comments about whether or not a product would be repurchased.

So in line with my New Year’s Resolution of using up all makeup and skincare in my collection without repurchasing (unless of course it’s a MUST HAVE item) – here are my January empties. Not that many compared to some people on YouTube but I’m pleased I’ve doggedly made my way through them. Doing a monthly Empties post will force me to use up items and downsize STUFF.

IMG_7896

  • Nivea Natural Oil. I bought this in Italy and it was immediate love. You can’t get it in New Zealand so I bought two more bottles whilst in Stockholm recently. The hilarious part is that because I can’t read or speak Italian, I thought it was a dry oil for the body and I used it that way for months. Ah, nope: it is a shower oil and I ended up using it in the shower. As a shower gel, it’s pretty ordinary so I swapped back to slapping it on the legs and arms. It has a very delicate, pleasant scent and apparently has 55% nourishing oils. It’s velvety and has certainly taken care of my rough heels. One down; two to go.
  • The Body Shop Almond Oil Intensive Hand Rescue cream – I’m wondering if this has been discontinued. Couldn’t find it on the Aussie website. Seems it might have been replaced by the Almond Nourishing Hand & Nail Butter. Shows you how long I’ve had this tub for. I tend to use a bit of one hand cream, then swap over to another, then another. But this time I was determined to finish the tub. It was a pretty good hand cream but best as an intensive night-time treatment as it takes ages to soak in. The almond scent was non-existent but a little cream went a long way. I’m now using a gift-with-purchase Body Shop Hemp Hand Protector. I believe the Hemp hand cream is a top-seller for The Body Shop. Don’t know why as I can’t stand the smell but will continue with it until it’s used up. I’m of two minds though because I’ve now banned The Body Shop due to L’Oreal (who own it) continuing to test on animals (although they also claim not to). And L’Oreal has recently purchased Urban Decay (another brand I really like).
  • Radox Macadamia Coconut Oil 1 Litre shower cream. Took me ages to get through this as I kept swapping over to a Lush shower gel. So every shower during January, I used this Radox shower cream. It’s supposed to have a tropical scent of macadamia and coconut but I didn’t smell anything like it. In fact, this shower cream was pretty ordinary even though it’s soap free and dermatologically tested. Can’t say it left my skin super soft either. Wouldn’t repurchase despite being good value for money (1 Litre cost NZ$7.90 at the time of purchase). I have about three shower gels in stock – my maternal grandmother always said stock the pantry so you don’t run out, especially loo paper!
  • Palmer’s Daily Cleansing Gel (Sensitive skin). A light gel cleanser that took me centuries to get through, simply because such a little goes a LONG way. Convenient pump and fragrance-free. Contains Retinol, cocoa butter, milk proteins and shea butter to soothe and calm all skin types. I very much like this cleanser and would repurchase. But I’m now using a NZ manuka honey cleanser I had ready to go when the Palmer’s cleanser ran out.
  • Korres Provitamin B5 and Rice Bran mascara. Korres is a Greek brand I used when living in Australia. Love. I bought this black mascara from Strawberrynet awhile back and finished it up during January. It’s not a volumizing mascara but it has a good consistency and doesn’t clump. Tendency to smudge though but does a very good job of coating the lashes in one swipe. I’d certainly buy this again and will be since I’m buying Greek products as part of my New Year’s Resolutions. But I’m currently using up a couple of other mascaras, especially my HG mascara: Revlon Grow Luscious.
  • Lancome Hypnose custom volume mascara in black. This was a gift-with-purchase ages ago so it’s a small tube that I tend to take away with me. I’ve used up a few full-size tubes of this mascara over the years. It’s a very good mascara – no clumping or flaking and it boosts the lashes quite well. I’d buy it again except that Lancome is owned by L’Oreal and I want to investigate natural, cruelty-free mascaras.
  • Urban Decay eyeshadow primer potion. This is the little one out of the Naked 2 palette. I don’t really get the whole cult thing around this product. I think Too Faced Shadow Insurance is better and MAC Paintpot in Painterly is the HG of primers. Unless I’m missing something, I wouldn’t buy a full-size tube and will stick with MAC thanks.
  • Vede & Crede. This is a New Zealand brand based on botanical ingredients, essential oils and perfumes from Morocco, the Middle East and ayurvedic India. I picked up a tiny sample of their Soothing Facial Serum (and I mean tiny – they could be a bit more generous with the samples). It contains Bulgarian rose essential oil to soothe and moisturise sensitive and mature skin types. I can’t say I’m overly impressed with it and I didn’t see any improvements in my skin. I much prefer using Sweet Almond Oil or my favourite Italian facial oil.
  • Sensodyne Iso-Active Whitening toothpaste. I have always used Sensodyne because of my sensitive teeth but, recently, I’ve swapped over to a toothpaste that is SLS-free. The Sensodyne container irritated me beyond irritation! I thought it would be good to travel with, no leaks or mess. But the opening where the toothpaste comes out just became one gluggy mess, despite many rinses. I wouldn’t bother buying this again.
  • Weleda Gencydo Hayfever Nasal Spray. This has been a saviour and I always have one in my handbag and another around the house. It has organic lemon and quince extracts and unblocks any stuffy nose I might get thanks to the three hayfever seasons we seem to get (September, December and March).
  • Purple shower puff. I’m sure you’re not interested but hey, I finished it during January. It finally gave up the ghost and started to unravel. I had a smaller white one on hand so no need to purchase another.

Using up stuff is actually quite satisfying. Can’t wait to see what February brings!

