Just before Christmas last year, I bought some stuff off Strawberrynet. I don’t plan to buy any makeup or skincare in 2013, in line with my New Year’s Resolutions. Already into February and so far, so good. The other day, I used the Korres eyeshadows I bought from Strawberrynet plus my favourite (for now anyway) bronzer, Revlon PhotoReady Bronzed and Chic 100. This bronzer was part of the Summer 2012 Escapism collection by Gucci Westman and I had a hard time finding it here in New Zealand. But track it down I did.

So here is my FOTD.

EYES

  • Bare Minerals Well Rested SPF 20 Eye Brightener. I used this as a base eyeshadow followed by Korres Sunflower and Evening Primrose eyeshadows in #36 Brun and #31 Bronze Brown in the socket and to rim the eyes. The latter is a pretty good dupe for MAC’s Bronze eyeshadow. Unfortunately, Bronze Brown broke in transit but heck, I’m going to use it. On the middle of the eyelid, I used Bare Escentuals Vanilla Sugar – a beautiful golden peach colour.
  • Mascara is Korres Provitamin B5 and Rice Bran mascara in Black, travel-size. Lashes were curled using e.l.f. Mechanical Eyelash Curler.
  • MAC Blanc Type was used as a brow bone highlighter.
  • Under the eyes I used Revlon PhotoReady Concealer in Light Medium. Great concealer; shame about the shade. I should have listened to my intuition when I bought it last year – I wanted the Light shade. But the dolly bird sales girl – and I rarely listen to them – said that Light Medium would be the better choice for my skin tone. I’ll use this up then go get the Light shade in 2014. The concealer is creamy, blendable and stays put.

FACE

  • Rimmel Fix & Perfect Foundation Primer in 001. It’s a flesh-toned primer that is supposed to minimise pores and prepare your skin for foundation. Not that impressed to be honest but I’m using it up. It’s a little greasy and the colour is a bit scary orange at first. I think 002 is the colourless version. I then used Moisture Mist Mattifying Pore Concealer to really minimise nasty pores. I really like this product as it’s a transparent thick gel that does a good job of camouflaging.
  • Concealer is MAC Studio Finish Concealer in NC15.

BRONZER & BLUSH

  • My current obsession – Revlon PhotoReady Bronzed and Chic 100. The first thing I’m going to say is whoever designed the packaging should be fired. A third of the bulky compact is taken up by a useless brush. It would have been far better to ditch the brush because most makeup obsessives have their own arsenal of brushes. A small, round compact would have been ideal. But I have to say that this bronzer is fab and very natural-looking when applied. The design on the bronzer is a piece of coral I think. There is no sparkle or shimmer and the bronzer is divided into four different shades that work well together. You need to have a light hand though because it’s extremely pigmented and you could end up looking muddy. Frankly, I think this bronzer is better than Benefit Hoola or Too Faced Milk Chocolate Soleil. I’ve heard that it’s going to be part of the permanent Revlon collection – I sure hope so.
  • MAC Well Dressed blush – a lollipop pink satin finish blush. It’s a soft, blue-toned pink that so many beauty bloggers rave about so, when I saw it on special on Strawberrynet, I thought why not. But I can’t say I really like it; it’s a bit too Barbie Doll powdery pink for my liking. I prefer a blush with more punch like MAC’s Warm Soul.

LIPS

BRUSHES

  • Too many to talk about but I will say that I’m loving the Napoleon Perdis Chisel Blush Brush #22b (third from left in photo below). It’s made from pure sable hair and I love the long handle, which makes it very easy to use and apply blush.
IMG_6480

Revlon Photoready Bronzed and Chic 100.

IMG_6481

L-R Bare Minerals Well Rested; Korres eyeshadows in #36 Brun and #31 Bronze Brown.

IMG_6477 IMG_6491

