Regular readers (anybody?) will know that my grandmother and mother were devotees of Gayelord Hauser. Gotta love that name: Gayelord (and I believe he was indeed gay and his partner’s name was Frey Brown – an American actor who lived with Hauser in Sicily). If you don’t know who the heck I’m talking about, go here to catch up before I go on.

My grandmother lived to 87 years and my mother one week short of 91 years. My grandfather lived to 91 years and also followed Gayelord’s nutrition philosophies (as well as some of his own). Gayelord lived to 89 years (a bit short of the 100 years he was hoping to make) but was carried off by pneumonia.

So I’m taking no chances. I’ve picked up my mother’s copies of Gayelord’s books and I’m reading fast. I can recite by heart his five wonder foods: skim milk, brewer’s yeast, wheat germ, yoghurt and blackstrap molasses.

One of the books reminded me that when I was in my teens, I followed Gayelord’s philosophies and was whipping up yoghurt in a thermos, which set overnight and was ready for breakfast the next morning.

The book I like the most is Mirror Mirror on the Wall, which was apparently a best-seller in 1960. There are some recipes in this book that I’ve been trying out. Recipes for food, vege and fruit espressos (what he calls vitamin-packed juices) and recipes for skin creams. So far I’ve cooked up his Beautyfarm Soya Muffins and some kind of peasant bread. The bread has no name but it’s heavy, dark bread.

I don’t know what was going on in the 60s but they must have eaten like stick insects. The muffin recipe only made six muffins; and the bread is on the small side but Gayelord remarks that it should last a week. Okay, that’s if you nibble a bit off each day! The muffins are not sweet despite having orange rind and raisins in them. The thing about Gayelord is it’s all wholewheat flour, wheatgerm, blackstrap molasses, soya flour – no white sugar, white rice, white bread. No white anything.

So it’s a bit of a shock to the taste buds, which are used to modern foods that are literally laced with sugar and other nasties. At first, the muffins tasted really bland and light-weight and only somewhat tasty. But each day I’ve been eating one for breakfast and now I’m really used to them. The bread is interesting with the wheatgerm giving it a very distinctive sort of nutty taste.

Next up, I’m going to try his body slant idea. You lie on a board (an ironing board will do or you can make a special board) and elevate it slightly off the ground so that the blood circulates to the face and head. You do this whilst getting your ten minutes of early morning sunshine so the body can manufacture Vitamin D. Think I might feel a bit like a bat hanging upside down but heck I’m going to give it a go.

Mirror Mirror on the Wall is a bit hilarious to read when it comes to Gayelord’s advice on makeup. But he is considered to be the founder of the natural food movement and a nutritionist who was really decades ahead of his time. Hilarious or not – I’m studying all his books.

IMG_8433

Beautyfarm Soya Muffins.

IMG_8442

Gayelord’s recipe for heavy bread. Zeph is wondering if it’s something he can play with.

Gayelord_Hauser-1a

Gayelord Hauser.

